UM's 2009 Award Winners

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The University of Miami football program held its annual awards banquet Sunday night at the Gusman Concert Hall on UM's campus. Award winners were announced for the 2009 season. Here is a list of this year's award winners:

Scout Team Player of the Year – Offense – Spencer Whipple
Scout Team Player of the Year – Defensive - Cory Nelms
Hard Hitter AwardDarryl Sharpton
Special Teams Player of Year Matt Bosher
Strength Training Athlete of the Year Allen Bailey
Nick Chickillo Most Improved PlayerSam Shields (D) and Matt Pipho (O)
Walt Kichefski Hurricane Award - Commitment, Consistency, Work Ethic A.J. Trump
Albert Bentley Most Valuable Walk-On Award – Chris Ivory
U Miami Sports Hall of Fame Unsung Hero AwardTervaris Johnson
Mariutto Family Scholarship Award for Academic Excellence – Jake Byrne
Plumer Award for Leadership, Motivation and SpiritRandy Phillips
Melching Leadership Award Javarris James (O) and Joe Joseph (D)
Jack Harding (MVP) - Jason Fox (O) and Darryl Sharpton (D)
Community Service Man of the Year AwardRyan Hill and Chavez Grant
Newcomer of the Year Award Mike James
Training Room Comeback Player of the YearDedrick Epps (O) and Colin McCarthy (D)
Hurricane Media "Good Guy" Award Jacory Harris (O) and Randy Phillips (D)

Canes Time Top Stories