Bailey, Harris on Nagurski List

Coral Gables, Fla. – Senior defensive end Allen Bailey and junior defensive back Brandon Harris have been named to the 2010 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, awarded to annually to the nation's best defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Bailey was an All-ACC first team selection on defense in 2009. He led the `Canes in sacks (7.0) and tackles for a loss (11.0). He played both defensive tackle and defensive end during the season and led all UM defensive linemen with 34 total tackles on the year. He started 10 of the 13 games he played in. Bailey ranked fourth in the ACC in sacks per game (0.58) and tied for seventh in tackles for a loss per game (0.92). He was named first team All-ACC at defensive tackle by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association, and Phil Steele. Bailey was awarded the Strength Training Athlete of the Year at the team's annual awards banquet.

Harris was selected an All-American by, the Associated Press and Phil Steele Magazine in 2009. An All-ACC First Team selection in 2009, earned second team All-America honors from, third team honors from the AP and fourth team All-America honors from Phil Steele Magazine. Harris led the ACC and ranked second nationally in averaging 1.31 passes defended per contest. He tied for second nationally with 15 pass break-ups and third in passes defended (17). He ranked third on UM's defense with 58 total tackles. He also forced two fumbles and intercepted two passes. He was named one of 12 semifinalists for the Thorpe Award given to the nation's top defensive back.

Players may be added or deleted to the Bronko Nagurski Watch List during the season. Each week during the 2010 season, the FWAA will choose a Defensive Player of the Week. If that player is not on the Watch List, he automatically will be added. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on November 18.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be on Dec. 6 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Besides the 2010 winner being announced, the banquet will also celebrate the winner of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, presented by CSX Intermodal. Defensive tackle Mike McCoy, a standout for Notre Dame, is being honored from the FWAA's 1969 All-America team.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

Canes Time Top Stories