Cousins Davey O'Brien Semifinalist

After starting with all 120 quarterbacks from the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools, the O'Brien National Selection Committee has narrowed down their list for the 2010 Davey O'Brien Award. Spartans junior quarterback Kirk Cousins made the cut.

Leading his team to an 8-0 record so far this season has placed Michigan State quarterback Kirk Cousins as one of 16 semifinalists for the 2010 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

The O'Brien committee was asked to consider quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership, and sportsmanship in making their decision on the country's top signal callers.

Cousins joins three other Big Ten quarterbacks, Ricky Stanzi (Iowa), Denard Robinson (Michigan), and Terrelle Pryor (Ohio State) on the list headlined by Kellen Moore (Boise State) and Andrew Luck to name a few.

Stanzi, Moore, and Matt Barkley (USC) are the only returning semifinalists from a year ago.

Spartan fans can now help Kirk by voting as often as once daily at to make him one of three quarterbacks that will advance as finalist. Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on November 21.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is present annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

Spartan Digest Top Stories