2010 All-Big Ten Team Leaves Questions

The release of the All-Big Ten Conference Coaches Football team may have left some scratching their heads. While it is well known most teams like this are popularity contest, there were a few questions left to ask.

Congratulations to several Spartans for earning All-Big Ten Conference Honors on Monday night.

It was no surprise to see Greg Jones listed on the first team defense.  However, the absence of Edwin Baker from the first or second team at running back with Dan Herron and Evan Royster joining Illinois running back Mikel Leshoure is one of the first questions.

Kicker Dan Conroy earned First Team kicker honors, while D.J. Young picked up Second Team honors at offensive tackle.

On defense, the Spartans had Jones as the only first team member while Eric Gordon, Johnny Adams, Trenton Robinson, Chris L. Rucker, and Aaron Bates all joined the Second Team defense.

While Illinois punter Anthony Santella is well deserving of being honored, an overall look at the importance Bates played in the success of Michigan State's season, should have pushed him to the first team instead of the second.

Other Spartans earning Honorable Mention included, Baker, Kirk Cousins, Mark Dell, Joel Foreman, Charlie Gantt, Marcus Hyde, and Jerel Worthy.

From the media side of things, Edwin Baker joined Dan Conroy on the first team offense while Charlie Gantt earned second team offensive honors.

On defense, Greg Jones and Aaron Bates earned first team honors while Eric Gordon and Marcus Hyde earned second team honors.

Johnny Adams, Kirk Cousins, B.J. Cunningham, Mark Dell, Joel Foreman, Trenton Robinson, Chris L. Rucker, Jerel Worthy, and D.J Young each earned Honorable Mention.

The media named Michigan State head coach Mark Dantonio the recipient of the Dave McClain Coach Of The Year.

Spartan Digest Top Stories