Spartans Earn At-Large NCAA Bid

Michigan State will end a 33 year dry spell and take part in the NCAA Baseball Tournament for the first time since 1979. Head coach Jake Boss Jr. continues to guide the Spartans program to new heights.

The long awaited call finally came for Michigan State as the Spartans earned an at-large bid as a No. 3 seed at the Palo Alto Regional in the NCAA Baseball Tournament.

The Spartans, who finished with a 37-21 mark, will face second-seeded Pepperdine on Friday at 4 p.m. EDT (1 p.m. PDT).

Also in the regional are No. 1 seed Stanford (38-16) and Fresno State (30-26) who will play at 9:00 p.m. EDT (6 p.m. PDT).

The format is a double elimination with the winner advancing to the Super Regionals against the winner of the Tallahassee Regional where Florida State, Mississippi State, Samford and UAB will battle.

The Spartans baseball program has made four other appearance in the tournament having made their way to the College World Series in 1954 and the tournament in 1971, 1978 and 1979.

Also making the tournament from the Big Ten Conference was conference champion Purdue who finished the season with a 44-12 record and earned the right to host their regional.


Spartan Nation Top Stories