New Big Ten Set

The new breakdown of the Big Ten may have some wondering if the balance of power has been placed in the East Division. Here is a look at the new Big Ten starting in 2014.

The Big Ten Conference officially announced and released the all new conference format with a dual football division set to begin in 2014.

"Big Ten directors of athletics concluded four months of study and deliberation with unanimous approval of a future football structure that preserved rivalries and created divisions based on their primary principle of East/West geography," said Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany. "The directors of athletics also relied on the results of a fan survey commissioned by BTN last December to arrive at their recommendation, which is consistent with the public sentiment expressed in the poll."

Fan sentiment will place Michigan State in the East Division along with Maryland, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers while the West Division will have Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwester, Purdue and Wisconsin battling it out.

While the new alignment for the most part places schools in the same time zones (expect Purdue), a look at past history shows an East made up with programs that have enjoyed the majority of success over the years.

Do you agree with the new Big Ten coming in 2014?

Talk about it on our member's only message board by clicking the link below.


Spartan Digest Top Stories