Future Spartans Schedules 2016-2017

Big Ten's schedules change greatly with the addition of Maryland and Rutgers when they join the conference in 2014. However, in 2016 and 2017 the conference will change to a nine-game conference schedule. Here is a quick look ahead as to who and where the Spartans will be playing.

Michigan State fans received early looks at the future of Spartans football on Thursday as the Big Ten released conference schedules for the 2016 and 2017 seasons.

What stands out when looking at these future schedules?

The first nine-game schedule in Big Ten history is set in place with the release of the conference schedule starting in 2016.

With the move to an East-West format, Michigan State will play West Division teams Wisconsin and Northwestern at home while traveling to Illinois.

The remainder of the home schedule looks strong with rival Michigan, Ohio State and Rutgers all heading to East Lansing.

Road games have the Spartans heading to Indiana, Maryland and Penn State to close out the regular season.

2016 Spartans Big Ten Schedule

Oct. 1 - @ Indiana

Oct. 8 – Wisconsin

Oct. 15 – Northwestern

Oct. 22 - @ Maryland

Oct. 29 – Michigan

Nov. 5 – @ Illinois

Nov. 12 – Rutgers

Nov. 19 – Ohio State

Nov. 26 - @ Penn State

In 2017 the Spartans will battle from the West, Iowa at home while traveling to Minnesota and Northwestern.

Home East Division games in 2017 include Indiana, Penn State and Maryland. The Spartans will hit the road for games against Michigan, Ohio State and Rutgers.

2017 Spartans Big Ten Schedule

Sept. 30 – Iowa

Oct. 7 - @ Michigan

Oct. 14 - @ Minnesota

Oct. 21 – Indiana

Oct. 28 - @ Northwestern

Nov. 4 – Penn State

Nov. 11 - @ Ohio State

Nov. 18 – Maryland

Nov. 25 - @ Rutgers

Spartan Nation Top Stories