Bullough Joins Select Company

The distinguished William v. Campbell Trophy is a unique honor only a handful of college football players are recognized for each year. Michigan State senior linebacker Max Bullough was named one of 16 finalists for the honor by the National Football Foundation on Thursday.

In early December, Michigan State senior linebacker Max Bullough will travel to New York City for the 56th annual NFF Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria.

Bullough, who earned second-team Academic All-American honors last season, is one of 16 finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy which recognized as individual as the best scholar-athlete in the nation.

Bullough is only the sixth NFF National Scholar-Athlete in Michigan State history and the first since former quarterback Kirk Cousins earned the honor in 2011. A finance major, Bullough currently holds a 3.56 GPA.

The honor was not missed by Spartans head coach Mark Dantonio.

"We congratulate Max Bullough on his academic and athletic achievements," MSU head coach Mark Dantonio said. "It's rare for a defensive player to become the face of a football program but that is the case for Max. He is an outstanding leader who represents the ideal scholar-athlete. From the day he first set foot on campus, Max has pursued excellence in the classroom and on the playing field."

The Traverse City, Mich., native has 270 career tackles in 48 games, including a team-high 35 consecutive starts. He ranks tied for 15th in MSU history with 27.5 tackles for loss (94 yards) in his career, including 7.5 sacks (48 yards), and also has 11 passes defended (three interceptions, eight pass break-ups) and four forced fumbles.

Named in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, a former player and head coach at Columbia University, and the 2004 recipient of the NFF's Gold Medal, the award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy and a $7,000 increase in postgraduate funds for a total scholarship of $25,000. A total distribution of $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded that evening, pushing the program's all-time distributions to more than $10.4 million.

Even if Bullough does not leave New York with the bronze trophy, he'll receive $18,000 in postgraduate funds to continue his education following his football career.


1965: Steve Juday
1968: Allen Brenner
1986: Dean Altobelli
1993: Steve Wasylk
2011: Kirk Cousins
2013: Max Bullough

Spartan Nation Top Stories