Spartans Named To All-Big Ten Defensive Team

The Big Ten Conference announced honors for special teams and defense on Monday night with only a few Michigan State Spartans earning honors on the defensive side of the ball.

Big Ten coaches and media members gave the Michigan State Spartans very little love when the conference announced the 2015 All-Big Ten Football team for defense Monday night.

Only one Spartan was selected by the conference coaches and media for first-team defense as defensive end Shilique Calhoun earned the honor.

Earning second-team honors from both was sophomore defensive lineman Malik McDowell

Members of the media also selected linebacker Riley Bullough for second team honors but coaches placed Bullough on the third team defense.

Also earning third team honors from the coaches were Darien Harris and Demetrious Cox while the media selected no Spartans.

Honorable mention honors from the coaches went to Jon Reschke and Lawrence Thomas while the media named Cox, Harris, Reschke and Joel Heath.

Darien Harris was also a Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree.

Spartan Nation Top Stories