Four Champions Crowned

Bennie Fowler and the Detroit Country Day Yellowjackets fell to Holland Christian and phenom quarterback A.J. Westendorp in the MHSAA Division 4 title game at Ford Field on Friday.

The first day of championship games is in the books and four MHSAA champions have been crowned in the even-numbered divisions.

Divison 2

Muskegon (14-0) won 34-14 over previously undefeated Warren De La Salle (13-1), rebounding nicely after a lackluster performance with a miracle finish against Davison the week before.

The story of the game was Muskegon's running game, which racked up 346 yards. Both Jason Hannett and quarterback Elan Banks passed 100 yards for the Big Reds. Anthony Davis added 80 more on the ground.

Warren De La Salle's quarterback, Josh Singoga, led the Pilots with 208 yards passing.

By the third quarter, the Big Reds opened a 27-0 lead on De La Salle and never looked back after taking a 7-0 lead with two minutes to go in the first quarter.

Muskegon has made the playoffs eight straight seasons and has now won three of the last five Division 2 championships.

Division 4

A.J. Westendorp once again led Holland Christian (14-0) to victory. The Maroons beat Detroit Country Day (11-3) 35-20.

Westendorp threw for 318 yards and four touchdowns and added 120 yards, on 19 carries, on the ground. Nine Maroons, including Westendorp himself, logged a reception, led by Willie Snead, IV, who caught nine balls for 81 yards and a touchdown.

Michigan State commit Bennie Fowler caught five passes for 84 yards for Country Day. Quarterback Josh Harris threw for 215 yards on 14-26 passing.

The Yellowjackets led 20-14 at the half, but the third period belonged to Holland Christian, who blitzed Country Day for 21 points to set the final score.

Holland Christian made the playoffs for the first time in 2006 and has participated in the last three tournaments. This is the Maroons' first championship.

Division 6

Montague (13-1) notched its first state championship with a win over Leslie (12-2). The Wildcats dominated the entire game, beating the Blackhawks 41-20.

Montague turned two first half interceptions into 14-points to build a 35-6 halftime lead. Leslie turned the ball over four times on the afternoon.

The Wildcats used a quick-strike offense to build its lead, needing four plays or less to score a touchdown on five of its first six drives. Running back A.J. LaRue led Montague with 104 yards rushing and two touchdowns.

This is Montague's first state championship and the culmination to seven-straight playoff appearances. The Wildcats were the third team from Muskegon County to win a championship Friday. A fourth, Muskegon Oakridge, plays at 4:30 p.m. today.

Division 8

Muskegon Catholic Central (14-0) opened the day of championships with a 40-0 win over Crystal Falls Forest Park (13-1).

The Crusaders held Forrest Park to 129 total yards and limited the Trojans to four first downs. Quarterback Jarred Johnson paced the Muskegon offense with 156 rushing yards on 11 carries and a touchdown. Four other Crusaders ran for a touchdown in the game.

The Crusaders, a perennial power with 21 playoff berths, won their eighth state championship. Forrest Park, another perennial power with 24 tournament appearances, fell short of back-to-back titles after winning it all last year.

Spartan Nation Top Stories