Molk B1G OL of Year; 3 Other U-Mers Honored

David Molk was named Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year; Taylor Lewan, Denard Robinson (media) and Mike Martin named 2nd team All Big Ten (coaches).

PARK RIDGE, Ill. -- Fifth-year University of Michigan senior center David Molk (Lemont, Ill./Lemont Township) was named the recipient of the inaugural Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year award, the Big Ten Conference announced on Monday (Nov. 28) during a live unveiling of its 2011 football awards on the Big Ten Network.

Molk headlined the Wolverines' four All-Big Ten honorees, earning first-team selection on the coaches' ballot and second-team selection by the media. Senior defensive tackle Mike Martin (Redford, Mich./Detroit Catholic Central) was a second-team selection in both polls, while junior quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach) earned second-team media honors and junior/sophomore offensive tackle Taylor Lewan (Scottsdale, Ariz./Chaparral) earned second-team coaches selection.

Molk is an All-Big Ten first team honoree by the coaches for the second year in a row. He was a second-team honoree by the media in 2010. Molk made his 25th consecutive start in U-M's victory over Ohio State last Saturday. He has 41 career starts. Lewan has started 21 of the last 22 games at left tackle, including 14 in a row. Lewan also earned honorable mention from the media. Molk and Lewan paved the way for the U-M offense that ranked second in the Big Ten in both scoring (34.2 points per game) and rushing (235.7 yards per game). The U-M front allowed 15 sacks, which tied for second-fewest in the conference.

Martin also earned All-Big Ten second-team honors from the coaches in 2010. In 2011, he set career highs for tackles (54) and sacks (3), while notching 5.5 tackles for loss. Martin anchored the U-M defense that was second in the Big Ten in rush defense (129.1 yards per game) and first in red zone defense (68.6%). The Michigan defense ranked first in conference-only play in rush defense (115.6 yards per game) and third-down percentage (31 of 103 attempts, 30.1%).

Robinson led the Big Ten in total offense (268.2 yards per game) for the second year in a row, becoming the first player to do so since Drew Brees from 1998-2000. His 1,163 yards rushing were fifth in the conference. He also passed for 2,056 yards; his 171.3 yards per game passing ranked fifth. Robinson tied a career-high with 18 passing touchdowns, while rushing for a career-best 16 touchdowns. He earned honorable mention from the Big Ten coaches.

Senior/junior safety Jordan Kovacs (Curtice, Ohio/Clay) was named the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipient for the Michigan program.

Eight other Wolverines received honorable mention in one or both of the votes:

Senior/junior linebacker Kenny Demens (Oak Park, MIch./Detroit Country Day) – coaches/media

Senior/junior cornerback J.T. Floyd (Greenville, S.C./J.L. Mann) – coaches/media

Fifth-year senior wide receiver Junior Hemingway (Conway, S.C./Conway) - coaches

Senior tight end Kevin Koger (Toledo, Ohio/Whitmer) – coaches/media

Senior/junior safety Jordan Kovacs (Curtice, Ohio/Clay) - media

Junior defensive end Craig Roh (Scottsdale, Ariz./Chapparal) – media

Junior/sophomore running back Fitzgerald Toussaint (Youngstown, Ohio/Liberty) coaches/media

Fifth-year senior defensive end Ryan Van Bergen (Whitehall, Mich./Whitehall) – coaches/media

The Michigan Insider Top Stories