Legacy Jerseys go to Gallon, Funchess & Avery

Jeremy Gallon will wear #21, Devin Funchess will wear #87, and Courtney Avery will wear #11.

The latest Michigan legacy jersey recipients, announced via twitter earlier this morning, are senior receiver Jeremy Gallon, senior defensive back Courtney Avery, and sophomore tight end Devin Funchess.

Gallon will take over Desmond Howard’s #21 after Roy Roundtree and Junior Hemingway donned the prestigious digits the last few years.  Howard was the first of the former Michigan greats to be anointed with “Legend” status on Sept. 10, 2011. The 5-9, 180 lb. wide receiver’s stellar career in Ann Arbor culminated with Maxwell Award, Athlon Sports Player of the Year, Walter Camp Player of the Year, and Heisman Trophy awards in 1991.  That recognition came after he hauled in 62 receptions for 985 yards for 19 touchdowns, with two more rushing and two more on returns.

Avery picks the legacy jersey a few days after being named team co-captain.  He will take over the Wistert brothers’ #11, worn last year by Jordan Kovacs. Francis (1931-33), Albert (1940-42), and Alvin Wistert (1947-49) were All American tackles during their days in Ann Arbor and all three have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Devin Funchess will wear Ron Kramer’s #87, which was worn last year by Brandon Moore. Kramer is widely regarded as one of the best athletes to ever set foot in Ann Arbor in any sport after finishing his career as a nine-time letterman in three sports: football, basketball and track.  During his gridiron career Kramer starred at offensive and defensive end and was a two-time consensus All-American (1955-56) and a three-time All-Big Ten first-team selection (1954-56). He also led the Wolverines in scoring twice in football and basketball.

The Michigan Insider Top Stories