McGary & Robinson III on Wooden Watch List

Mitch McGary adds another honor to his lengthy preseason resume, while Glen Robinson III adds his second.

Michigan sophomores Mitch McGary and Glenn Robinson III were both named to the watch list for the John R. Wooden Award by the Los Angeles Athletic Club.  The Wolverines are joined on the 50 player list by a list of eight other Big Ten players that includes Michigan State's Keith Appling, Gary Harris and Adriean Payne, Ohio State's Aaron Craft and LaQuinton Ross, Wisconsin's Sam Dekker, Minnesota's Andre Hollins and Indiana's Noah Vonleh.

McGary and Robinson will each be vying to be the second player in program history to win the prestigious award, joining former Wolverine standout Trey Burke who won it last year.

While this is the just the second preseason honor for Robinson III, it is the seventh such honor for McGary.  The versatile big man was previously named to the preseason watch list for the USBWA's Oscar Robertson and to preseason All-America teams for the Associated Press (first team), USA Today (first team), Sporting News (first team), Athlon Sports (second team) and Blue Ribbon College Basketball (second team). Both McGary and Robinson were named to the preseason All-Big Ten team.

2013-14 Preseason Wooden Award Watch List
Jordan Adams, UCLA
Kyle Anderson, UCLA
Keith Appling, Michigan State
Isaiah Austin, Baylor
Jahii Carson, Arizona State
Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky
Semaj Christon, Xavier
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
Sam Dekker, Wisconsin
Spencer Dinwiddie, Colorado
Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
Joel Embiid, Kansas
C.J. Fair, Syracuse
Aaron Gordon, Arizona
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
Montrezl Harrell, Louisville
Gary Harris, Michigan State
Joe Harris, Virginia
Andrew Harrison, Kentucky
Tyler Haws, BYU
Andre Hollins, Minnesota
Rodney Hood, Duke
Joe Jackson, Memphis
Cory Jefferson, Baylor
Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
Alex Kirk, New Mexico
James Michael McAdoo, North Carolina
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Mitch McGary, Michigan
Jordan McRae, Tennessee
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
Jabari Parker, Duke
Adreian Payne, Michigan State
Elfrid Payton, Louisiana
Dwight Powell, Stanford
Julius Randle, Kentucky
Juvonte Reddic, VCU
Glenn Robinson III, Michigan
LaQuinton Ross, Ohio State
Wayne Selden, Jr., Kansas
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Russ Smith, Louisville
Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee
Rasheed Sulaimon, Duke
Noah Vonleh, Indiana
Dez Wells, Maryland
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas
Kendall Williams, New Mexico
James Young, Kentucky

The Michigan Insider Top Stories