3 Wolverines on Bronko Nagurski Watch List

Three Michigan football players were added to the watch list for the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy given out annually to the top defensive player in college football.

Three Michigan football players were added to the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List Thursday including defensive end Frank Clark, cornerback Blake Countess and middle linebacker Jake Ryan.

The Bronko Nagurski award has been given out annually to the National Defensive Player of the Year in college football since 1993.

For Clark and Ryan, the inclusion is their second of the sort this week after being added to the Chuck Bednarik Watch List Monday.

Clark started all 13 games as a junior recording 43 tackles, 12 tackles for loss and 4.5 sacks.

Ryan, who is making the switch from outside linebacker to middle linebacker, was responsible for 30 tackles and 4.5 tackles for loss despite missing the first five games of the season recovering from a torn ACL.

For Countess, this follows a redshirt sophomore campaign that saw him lead the team with six interceptions to go with 46 tackles including two for loss after starting all 13 games.

With 81 total players on the watch list, Michigan is one of 12 schools that have at least three representatives.

The five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Award will be announced on Nov. 20, with the winner being recognized on Dec. 8.

The Michigan Insider Top Stories