CO-MVPs Again Named at 43rd annual Hoops Banquet

The basketball season reached it&#8217;s official end yesterday at the team&#8217;s annual banquet. For the second year in a row two players shared the MVP award when<strong> Bernard Robinson Jr.</strong> and <strong>Lester Abram</strong> shared the honor. The captains for next year&#8217;s team were also announced.

Bernard Robinson Jr. has been through a great deal during his four years as a member of the Michigan Wolverines basketball team. A coaching change, disciplinary issues, and the death of his father have all presented themselves as possible roadblocks in his progress. But unlike many that face such obstacles, he was able to overcome all of that. In his final season wearing the Maize and Blue he led the Wolverines in rebounding (5.7), assists (3.8), steals (1.8), and minutes (32.2), while finishing third in scoring with 12.1 points per game. Those efforts garnered three additional honors, including the WAYMAN BRITT OUTSTANDING DEFENSIVE PLAYER AWARD, which recognized him as Michigan’s top defender. This marked the second consectutive year he received that honor.

While this year’s NIT championship was unquestionably a team effort, there was one selfless gesture that may have propelled the program to its postseason success. When Lester Abram offered to relinquish his starting position late in the season to freshman Dion Harris, it lit a spark in the young Detroiter that really seem to jump start his offense. Furthermore, in Abram’s new role coming off the bench, he continued to provide the same scoring output that he did when he was in the starting lineup. After being knocked out of action in the Big Ten Tournament during the Iowa game with a separated shoulder, he returned 11 days and 3 games later to pick up right where he left off. He came off the bench to light the Hawaii Rainbow Warriors up for a team high 17 points to help send the Wolverines to the Big Apple, where they eventually won the tournament. On the year Abram led Michigan in scoring (13.1), three-point field goal percentage (41.2), and free throw percentage (84.3). He too took home four awards on the night.

Abram’s leadership qualities were definitely noticed by his teammates, as he was named one of next year’s tri-captains along with Graham Brown and Sherrod Harrell. Check below for the complete list of award recipients. To view the entire press release on the banquet, click here.

2004 Michigan Basketball Banquet Award Winners

Bernard Robinson Jr.
Lester Abram

Bill Buntin Most Valuable Player Award
Colin Dill
J.C. Mathis
Thad Garner Leadership Award
Bernard Robinson Jr. Wayman Britt Outstanding Defensive Player Award
Graham Brown
Sherrod Harrell
Steve Grote Hustle Award
Dani Wohl Bodnar Award for Academic Achievement
Brent Petway
Courtney Sims
Rudy Tomjanovich Most Improved Player Award
Bernard Robinson Jr. Loy Vaught Rebounding Award
Lester Abram
Amadou Ba
Graham Brown
Travis Conlan Sportsmanship Award
Lester Abram Award for Outstanding Free Throw Shooting
Bernard Robinson Jr. Gary Grant Award for Most Assists
Lester Abram Iron Man Award
Matt Duprey Outstanding Manager Award

The Michigan Insider Top Stories