Reid and Woods Added to Butkus Watch list

Two players from the Michigan football team were named to the 2004 Butkus Award watch list. Senior inside linebacker <b>Lawrence Reid</b> and senior outside linebacker <b>Pierre Woods</b> joined eight other Big Ten Conference linebackers on the list, named after legendary middle linebacker Dick Butkus.

The Butkus award was created in 1985 by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc., to honor college football's best linebacker and bares the name of one of the greatest middle linebackers in football history, Dick Butkus.

Lawrence Reid and Pierre Woods were among eight Big Ten Conference linebackers to appear on the prestigious list. Michigan was one of 10 programs placing two standouts on the 65-player watch list. The Big Ten tied the Big 12 for the most players among all conferences.

A two-year letterman and returning starter, Reid has played in 18 games during his career and started all 13 games last season. He led the Wolverines with 82 tackles in 2003, including seven tackles for loss, two sacks, one fumble recovery and three pass breakups. Those statistics helped him win the Roger Zatkoff award as Michigan's top linebacker a year ago. Reid needs five more tackles for 100 for his career.

A two-year letterman and returning starter at outside linebacker, Woods has played in 26 career games, making all 13 career starts in 2003. Woods had 68 tackles last season, including a team-leading 14 tackles for loss and seven sacks. He was honored as All-Big Ten second team by the coaches for his performance last year.

The last, and only, Michigan linebacker to win the prestigious award was Erick Anderson in 1991. The last player from the Big Ten to claim the award was Penn State's LaVar Arrington, who won in 1999. Only one player has won the award twice, Brian Bosworth from Oklahoma won the Butkus the first two years the award was offered in 1985 and 1986. Last years winner was Teddy Lehman from Oklahoma. Lehman was the fourth Sooner to win the award, the most from any school.

The Butkus Award watch list will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists on Oct. 14, and down to three finalists on Nov. 11. The winner will be announced at the Butkus Award Gala, Friday, Dec. 10 in Orlando.

Here is a list of previous winners:

2003 - Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma
2002 - E.J. Henderson, Maryland
2001 - Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma
2000 - Dan Morgan, Miami
1999 - LaVar Arrington, Penn State
1998 - Chris Claiborne, USC
1997 - Andy Katzenmoyer, Ohio State
1996 - Matt Russell, Colorado
1995 - Kevin Hardy, Illinois
1994 - Dana Howard, Illinois
1993 - Trev Alberts, Nebraska
1992 - Marvin Jones, Florida State
1991 - Erick Anderson, Michigan
1990 - Alfred Williams, Colorado
1989 - Percy Snow, Michigan State
1988 - Derrick Thomas, Alabama
1987 - Paul McGowan, Florida State
1986 - Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma
1985 - Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma

The Michigan Insider Top Stories