Hensick, Tambellini, AHCA All-Americans

The American Hockey Coaches Association released their list of 2004-2005 hockey All-Americans on Thursday, with two Wolverines recording All-American honors for the first time. Sophomore center <b>T.J. Hensick</b> was named to the first-team, while junior forward <b>Jeff Tambellini</b> was selected for second-team honors. <br>

Hensick, a first-team All-American for the first time, had career highs in multiple offensive categories this year. In 39 contests, Hensick tallied 23 goals, 55 points, with plus/minus rating of plus-19, all career highs. Hensick also became the first Wolverine to be selected as a finalist for the Hobey Baker Award since 2000-2001.

Jeff Tambellini was selected as a second-team selection after leading the Wolverines in multiple offensive statistics. Tambellini lead the Wolverines in goals (24), assists (33), points (57), and plus/minus (+30). He played his best through the Wolverines playoff run. Tambellini collected the CCHA tournament MVP award along with pulling in NCAA Midwest regional all-tournament honors.

First-Team East

Goalie: David McKee, So., – Cornell
Defense: Andrew Alberts, Sr., – Boston College
Defense: Noah Welch, Sr., – Harvard University
Forward: Sean Collins, Sr., – New Hampshire
Forward: Patrick Eaves, Jr., – Boston College
Forward: Jason Guerriero, Sr., – Northeastern University

First-Team West

Goalie: Curtis McElhinney, Sr., - Colorado College
Defense: Matt Carle, So., - Denver
Defense: Mark Stuart, Jr., - Colorado College
Forward: T.J. Hensick, So., - Michigan
Forward: Marty Sertich, Jr., Colorado College
Forward: Brett Sterling, Jr., Colorado College

Second-Team East

Goalie: Dov Grumet-Morris, Sr., - Harvard University
Defense: Charlie Cook, Sr., - Cornell
Defense: Brian Yandle, Jr., - New Hampshire
Forward: Matt Moulson, Jr., - Cornell
Forward: Ryan Shannon, Sr., - Boston College
Forward: Lee Sternpniak, Sr., - Dartmouth

Second-Team West

Goalie: Tuomas Tarkki, Sr., - Northern Michigan
Defense: Andy Greene, Jr., - Miami, Oh.
Defense: Brett Skinner, Jr., - Denver
Forward: Gabe Gauthier, Jr., - Denver
Forward: Colin Murphy, Sr., - Michigan Tech
Forward: Jeff Tambellini, Jr., - Michigan

The Michigan Insider Top Stories