Hobson, Joppru named captains for 2002

SR LB Victor Hobson will captain one of the nation's top defensive units, while SR TE Bennie Joppru will lead the offense.

Michigan coach Lloyd Carr has just announced his captains for the 2002 season: Senior LB Victor Hobson will captain the defense and Senior TE Bennie Joppru will lead the offense.

"The Michigan captains are selected by their teammates, making it the single greatest honor a Michigan football player can receive," Carr said. "Traditionally it is an honor bestowed on young men who are outstanding players and possess outstanding leadership qualities.

Hobson is a popular selection this preseason to compete for the Lombardi Award, the Butkus Awards, and All-America honors. Joppru caught a career-high 21 passes last year, and should be the Wolverines' best tight end.

"Victor and Bennie are quality people," Carr added. "Both are fifth-year seniors and they are good students, enrolled in the College of Literature, Science and the Arts. Along with their senior teammates they will provide excellent leadership for this team." 

In the past three seasons, Hobson has played in all 36 games and has started 26 times. Joppru has played in 33 games and started 11.  

Hobson was named Michigan's top LB in 2000, and he led the team with 60 solo tackles in 2001. For his career Hobson tallied 178 tackles, 30 tackles for loss, and nine sacks.

Hobson is Carr's fourth LB to serve as captain, joining Eric Brackins (2001), Eric Mayes (1997), and Jarrett Irons (1995-96).

Joppru has 32 career receptions for 221 yards and three TDs.

Last season's offensive captain, Shawn Thompson, was also a TE.

The Michigan Insider Top Stories