Carr, Hart, Crable Up for Postseason Honors

For the second straight day comes news that there are Wolverines up for postseason awards. Lloyd Carr, Mike Hart, and Shawn Crable are among the candidates for three prestigious honors.

Michigan’s ability to bounce back from a disappointing 0-2 has obviously caught the attention of the college football world and shone a light on the leadership of veteran coach Lloyd Carr. For the second year in a row, the Wolverines’ headman is a candidate for the Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year Award presented by the American Heart Association. Carr has now made the list of finalists for the prestigious award four times (he also made the cut on 1997, 2003, and 2006) and he won in once (1997).

Like Carr, Mike Hart is also up for the same award for the second consecutive year. Currently the nation’s third leading rusher (1188 yards, 5.5 ypg, 12 TDs), Hart is one of 15 semifinalists for 71st Maxwell Award, presented by the Maxwell Football Club to the Collegiate Player of the Year.

Rounding out the day’s award candidates is senior LB Shawn Crable. The 6-5, 243-pounder is one of four Big Ten Players to make the list of semifinalists for 13th Chuck Bednarik Award, presented to the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year by the Maxwell Football Club. Crable, who leads the nation in tackles for loss (with 22.5 TFLs, 7.5 sacks… 67 tackles overall and three forced fumbles).

For more on these developments, including announcement dates for the awards, click here.

The Michigan Insider Top Stories