Big Ten Announces Conference Trophies

On Tuesday The Big Ten announced the implementation of 18 new trophies/awards for the 2011 season. Three of these will be named after Golden Gophers greats. Here is the complete list of the football trophy names.

Trophy NameNamed for
Championship Game Trophies
Stagg-Paterno Championship TrophyAmos Alonzo Stagg, Chicago
Joe Paterno, Penn State
Grange-Griffin Championship Game MVPHarold Edward "Red" Grange, Illinois
Archie Griffin, Ohio State
Postgraduate Awards
Ford-Kinnick Leadership AwardGerald R. Ford, Michigan
Nile Kinnick, Iowa
Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian AwardTony Dungy, Minnesota
Anthony Thompson, Indiana
Annual Awards/Trophies
Graham-George Offensive Player of the YearOtto Graham, Northwestern
Eddie George, Ohio State
Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the YearBronislau "Bronko" Nagurski, Minnesota
Charles Woodson, Michigan
Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the YearWayne Woodrow "Woody" Hayes, Ohio State
Glenn Edward "Bo" Schembechler, Michigan
Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the YearDarrell Thompson, Minnesota
Antwaan Randle El, Indiana
Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the YearDave Rimington, Nebraska
Orlando Pace, Ohio State
Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the YearCharles Aaron "Bubba" Smith, Michigan State
Courtney Brown, Penn State
Griese-Brees Quarterback of the YearBob Griese, Purdue
Drew Brees, Purdue
Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the YearAlan Ameche, Wisconsin
Ron Dayne, Wisconsin
Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the YearJack Tatum, Ohio State
Rod Woodson, Purdue
Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the YearDick Butkus, Illinois
Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
Richter-Howard Receiver of the YearPat Richter, Wisconsin
Desmond Howard, Michigan
Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the YearTed Kwalick, Penn State
Dallas Clark, Iowa
Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the YearJim Bakken, Wisconsin
Morten Andersen, Michigan State
Eddleman-Fields Punter of the YearThomas Dwight "Dike" Eddleman, Illinois
Brandon Fields, Michigan State

Gopher Illustrated Top Stories