Big Ten Announces Division Names

The Big Ten Conference announced Tuesday that its football divisions, starting with the 2011 season, will be "Legends" and "Leaders." The Minnesota Golden Gophers fall within the "Legends" division.

A breakdown of the divisions:

LEGENDS: Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern

LEADERS: Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue, Wisconsin

"'Legends' is a nod to our history and to the people associated with our schools who are widely recognized as legends - student-athletes, coaches, alumni and faculty," said Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany.

He went on to say, "'Leaders' looks to the future as we remain committed to fostering leaders, the student-athletes who are encouraged to lead in their own way for the rest of their lives, in their families, in their communities and in their chosen professions.

"We're proud of our many legends and even prouder of our member institutions that develop future leaders every day."

Gopher Illustrated Top Stories