Big Ten Hockey Tournament Locations Announced

The Big Ten announced Thursday that the conference's postseason tournaments will be held at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn., in 2014 and 2016, and at the Joe Louis Arena in Detroit in 2015 and 2017.

The inaugural tournament is slated for March 20-22, 2014.

Tournament play will feature all six teams from the Big Ten—Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin. The tournament format will be a single-elimination.

The tournament's quarterfinal matchups will feature the No. 3 seed facing the No. 6 seed and the No. 4 seed facing the No. 5 seed.

The top two seeds will open tournament play in the Friday semifinals, with the No. 1 seed against either the No. 4 or 5 seed and the No. 2 seed facing the No. 3 or 6 seed.

The championship game will be held on Saturday.

Gopher Illustrated Top Stories