Gopher hockey players lead Team USA

It may be the dog days of August, but a trio of Gophers women's hockey players looked like they were in midseason form as Team USA went undefeated against Team Canada last weekend in the Under-22 games. Also, find out what former Gopher greats will be inducted into the Gophers Sports Hall of Fame in September.

Gopher Women's Hockey Players Dominate at USA's Under-22 Games

University of Minnesota women's hockey players Natalie Darwitz (Eagan, Minn./Eagan), Jody Horak (Blaine, Minn./Blaine) and Kelly Stephens (Shoreline, Wash./Shorewood) led Team USA's Under-22 Team to two wins and a tie against Canada's Under-22 Team last weekend in Pierrefonds, Quebec. The Red, White and Blue tied the first game 2-2 last Thursday, won 2-0 Friday and won 3-2 Saturday, in a three-game series.

Darwitz led Team USA with two goals and two assists for four points. Darwitz scored the game-winning goal in the 2-0 shutout on Friday and a set up a Stephens' goal. Stephens had two points in three games played. Along with her goal in Friday's game, she also had an assist in the 2-2 tie.

Horak was the starting goalie in all three games for Team USA, notching a 2-0-1 record. Horak earned a shutout in the 2-0 win Friday and had 32 saves in 36 shots on goal over the weekend. It was the first time Horak participated with the USA's Under-22 Team.

Ten Men and Women To Be Inducted into Gopher Sports Hall of Fame

It seems like just yesterday Corey Millen was scoring goals for the Gophers hockey team, and Rickey Foggie was running the option for the Gophers football team. Now, those two are part of 10 former Gophers who will be honored for their accomplishments on Sept. 19.

That's when the National "M" Club and the University of Minnesota Athletics Department will celebrate the first induction uniting fellow men and women athletes into the Gopher Sports Hall of Fame. Both time-honored traditions have been brought together in one celebration showcasing the accomplishments of all Gophers student-athletes.

The National "M" Club represents approximately 6,000 Gopher letter winners, with a mission to build lifetime relationships through service, support and connection with members, the University of Minnesota and it's athletics department, and the greater community. The Hall of Fame Inductees include:

Hall of Fame Inductees

Bill Brask Golf 1966

Dan Egeland Swimming 1986

Rickey Foggie Football 1984

Belmar Gunderson Tennis Coach Athletics Director 1964-76

Jill (Halsted) Garver Volleyball 1979

Debra Hunter Basketball 1980

Corey Millen Hockey 1983

Sue Ring-Jarvi Hockey 1974

Diane (Wallner) Schoeneman Swimming 1983

Gordon Watters Hockey 1951

The banquet will be held at the Coffman Memorial Union beginning with a social hour at 5:30 pm. Tickets for the event are available by calling the National "M" Club office at 763-566-5895 or email:

Gopher Illustrated Top Stories