Kris Humphries named Big Ten Freshman of the Year

Minnesota's Kris Humphries was named the Big Ten Conference Freshman of the Year by both coaches and media after becoming the first frosh in Big Ten history to lead the way in both scoring and rebounding. He edged Wisconsin's Devin Harris for the Big Ten scoring title in the final game of the regular season to average 21.0 points per outing, while leading all players with 9.5 boards per contest.

Kris Humphries became just the sixth player in Big Ten history to lead in both categories and the first since Purdue's Glenn Robinson accomplished the feat as a sophomore during the 1994 campaign.

The 6-9 forward is the second Gopher to earn the award in the last three years, as Rick Rickert became the first Minnesota honoree in 2002. Humphries was joined by four other first-year standouts on the Big Ten All-Freshman Team, as the five-man squad also included Michigan's Dion Harris and Courtney Sims, Michigan State's Shannon Brown and Penn State's Marlon Smith.

Gopher Illustrated Top Stories