Gophers women's hockey team headed to White House

The University of Minnesota women's hockey team has been invited to the White House on Wednesday, May 19 to be honored for winning the 2004 NCAA Frozen Four Championship.

The team will be recognized in a ceremony at 3:50 p.m. (EST) at the White House with President George W. Bush.

The Golden Gophers will be joined at the ceremony by NCAA men's hockey champion Denver, as well as the NCAA champion men's and women's basketball teams from the University of Connecticut. It was the first NCAA championship for the Golden Gopher women's hockey team, the sixth by the Denver Pioneers, the second by the Huskies' men's basketball team and the fifth for the UConn women's basketball team.

The Minnesota travel party will depart from Signature Airport on Wednesday at 9 a.m. Following the ceremony at the White House, the Gophers will go to a Minnesota congressional reception on Capitol Hill and depart Washington D.C. at approximately at 8:30 p.m. (EST).

Gopher Illustrated Top Stories