Marion Barber named to Walter Camp POY watch list

The Big Ten has six Conference student-athletes that were named to the 2004 Walter Camp Player of the Year watch list last week, including Minnesota running back Marion Barber III. The Big Ten's total of six honorees ranked third among all leagues behind only the Big 12 (10) and SEC (7).

The Big Ten's list of preseason standouts are Iowa running back Jermelle Lewis, Michigan wide receiver Braylon Edwards, Minnesota running back Marion Barber III, Ohio State linebacker A.J. Hawk, Purdue quarterback Kyle Orton and Wisconsin running back Anthony Davis. The Buckeyes' Hawk and the Boilermakers' Orton were tabbed as the 2004 Big Ten Preseason Defensive and Offensive Player of the Year, respectively, in a vote by media members attending the Conference's media day in early August. Edwards, Barber III and Hawk were First Team All-Big Ten selections last season while Orton was an Honorable Mention choice. The Badgers' Davis was an All-Conference honoree each of his first two years before missing all or part of nine games last season due to injury.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in early November and the winner of the award will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. Big Ten student-athletes have earned this prestigious honor on 17 occasions, most recently by Penn State running back Larry Johnson in 2002.

The 109th season of Big Ten football kicks off the first week of September with all 11 teams taking the field for non-conference action.

Gopher Illustrated Top Stories