Two Named Big 10 Outstanding Sportsmanship Winners

Senior basketball guard Brent Lawson and track and field senior Sarah Hesser were among the 22 student-athletes recognized by the Big Ten as Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners. These individuals were chosen from a group of 270 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by the institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree, and from each university's list two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports competition setting.

The 22 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners include 14 Academic All-Big Ten honorees and six All-Big Ten selections.

2005 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

                                Illinois               Chris Martin, Sr., Men's Tennis

Erin Virtue, Sr., Women's Volleyball

Indiana              Aarik Wilson, Sr., Men's Track and Field

Cassandra Cardinell, Sr., Women's Swimming & Diving

Iowa                 Joe Johnston, Jr., Wrestling

                                                Jennifer Skolaski, Sr., Women's Swimming & Diving

                        Michigan           Kevin Dudley, Sr., Football                                           

Michelle DaCosta, Sr., Women's Tennis

                        Michigan State  Andy Marsh, Sr., Men's Track and Field

                                                Abby Shepherd, Sr., Women's Soccer

Minnesota         Brent Lawson, Sr., Men's Basketball

Sarah Hesser, Sr., Women's Track and Field

Northwestern     Davor Duvancic, Jr., Men's Basketball

                                                Erin Mobley, Sr., Softball

Ohio State        Tom Randisi, Sr., Men's Lacrosse

                                                Jennifer Trickett, Sr., Women's Pistol

Penn State        Michael Jacober, Sr., Men's Lacrosse

                                                Kari Lucas, So., Softball

Purdue              Kyle Ingraham, So., Football

                                                Carrie McCambridge, Jr., Women's Swimming & Diving

Wisconsin         Joe Ebinger, So., Men's Swimming & Diving
                                    Boo Gillette, Sr., Softball

Gopher Illustrated Top Stories