Gophers Return 31 Football Lettermen

The Minnesota Gophers football team is hoping to build on last season with expectations of a January bowl. The Gophers must replace several key players, such as All-Americans Greg Eslinger, Laurence Maroney and Mark Setterstrom, but they do return starting quarterback Bryan Cupito and several key players on both the offensive and defensive side of the field. The following is a look at the returning 31 lettermen for the upcoming season.


(2005 plays in parenthesis)
Joe Ainslie (51)
Neel Allen (123)
Trumaine Banks (925)
Dominique Barber (300)
Tony Brinkhaus (1,015)
Pat Cheney (107)
Eric Clark (114)
Bryan Cupito (843)
Alex Daniels (177)
Steve Davis (555)
Jeremy Faue (73)
Jason Giannini (137)
Jamal Harris (939)
Deon Hightower (102)
Dominic Jones (778)
Justin Kucek (85)
Rob McGarry (117)
Todd Meisel (197)
Joel Monroe (18)
Tony Mortensen (135)
Logan Payne (686)
Amir Pinnix (133)
Mario Reese (559)
Mike Sherels (440)
John Shevlin (788)
Steve Shidell (1,013)
Matt Spaeth (1,025)
Tyson Swaggert (212)
Justin Valentine (341)
Willie VanDeSteeg (313)
Ernie Wheelwright (677)

Gopher Illustrated Top Stories