Spaeth and Mousseau Win Sportsmanship Award

The Big Ten today recognized 22 student-athletes who were named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners. These individuals were chosen from a group of 269 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship. Matt Spaeth, a senior football player, and Danielle Mousseau, a junior women's tennis standout, were chosen to represent Minnesota.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by the institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree and from each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, theses student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The 22 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners include 17 Academic All-Big Ten honorees and 11 All-Big Ten selections from the 2006-07 season. In addition, Ohio State women's basketball standout Jessica Davenport claimed her third consecutive Big Ten Player of the Year accolade in 2007, while Wisconsin's Joe Detmer was named the Field Athlete of the Year for the indoor season.

The 2007 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below and the complete list of Sportsmanship Award honorees for all sports from each school is attached as a PDF.

2007 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners


Shawn Roof, Sr., Baseball

Caroline Moore, Sr., Women's Swimming and Diving


Arnaud Roussel, Sr., Men's Tennis

Leah Enterline, Sr., Women's Basketball


Adam Haluska, Sr., Men's Basketball

Kara Zappone, Sr., Field Hockey


Brian Hung, Sr., Men's Tennis                                                         

Katie Erdman, Sr., Women's Track and Field

Michigan State    

Drew Neitzel, Jr., Men's Basketball

Miken Trogdon, Sr., Women's Volleyball


Matt Spaeth, Sr., Football

Danielle Mousseau, Jr., Women's Tennis


Willy Lock, Sr., Men's Tennis

Sophie Eustis Sr., Fencing

Ohio State            

Antonio Smith, Sr., Football

Jessica Davenport, Sr., Women's Basketball

Penn State           

James Yonushonis, Sr., Wrestling

Amanda Brown, Sr., Women's Basketball


Pariya Junhasavasdikul, Sr., Men's Golf                                                          

Erika Peterson, Sr., Softball


Joe Detmer, Sr., Men's Track and Field

Sara Bauer, Sr., Women's Ice Hockey


Gopher Illustrated Top Stories