News from MSU Media Relations--July 14

The latest sports news from the MSU Media Relations Department...Baseball.

STARKVILLE, Miss. - Mississippi State University Head Baseball Coach John Cohen has awarded varsity letters to 25 members of MSU's 2011 baseball team.

This year's list features eight senior players, including a pair of fourth-year lettermen --- outfielder/first baseman Ryan Collins (Panama City, Fla.) and catcher Cody Freeman (Collinsville, Miss.). Third-year letter-winners include outfielder Brent Brownlee (Oxford, Miss.), pitcher Devin Jones (Eupora, Miss.) and Caleb Reed (Cleveland, Miss.).

Earning their second varsity letters are Sam Frost, Chad Girodo, Kendall Graveman, Trey Johnson, Jonathan Ogden, Parrod Parks, Nick Routt, Jaron Shepherd, Chris Stratton, Wes Thigpen and Nick Vickerson, while nine Bulldog players, C.T. Bradford, Andrew Busby, Adam Frazier, Evan Mitchell, Daryl Norris, Luis Polloreno, Hunter Renfroe, Taylor Stark and Tim Statz, received their initial letters for baseball at Mississippi State.

The 2011 Bulldog baseball team posted a four-year best 38-25 record and advanced to the championship game of the NCAA Gainesville (Fla.) Super Regional.

STARKVILLE, Miss. - Six members of the 2011 Mississippi State University baseball team have been named to the 2010-2011 Southeastern Conference First-Year Academic Honor Roll, the SEC announced Thursday. The Diamond Dog academic honorees are among 41 Mississippi State student-athletes representing 12 men's and women's sports on this year's freshman academic all-conference listing.

Named to this year's team are outfielder C.T. Bradford (Pace, Fla.), pitcher Victor Diaz (Perth Amboy, N.J.), pitcher Ross Mitchell (Smyrna, Tenn.), first baseman Wes Rea (Gulfport, Miss.), catcher/outfielder Hunter Renfroe (Crystal Springs, Miss.) and infielder Taylor Stark (Flowood, Miss.). Bradford, Diaz, Renfroe and Stark combined for 106 games played and 74 starts on MSU's 2011 NCAA Super Regional baseball edition.

Among qualifications, student-athletes must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.00 and be either a letter winner or on scholarship. From 2003 until 2010, the listing was known as the SEC Freshman Academic Honor Roll.

It's the second-most freshman honorees for MSU since the league initiated the listing in 2003. In nine years, 41 MSU baseball players have received SEC Freshman/First-Year Academic Honor Roll accolades.

Last month 14 Mississippi State baseball players were named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll by the conference office in Birmingham.

Gene's Page Top Stories