Tentative Times, Dates For SEC-Linked Bowls

Nominally it is the college football bowl schedule. Practically? It is the Southeastern Conference's post-season schedule, with openings for at least ten and possibly even eleven league teams to go bowling this winter.

The Football Bowl Association has provided a complete listing of the 35, that's right, 35 post-season classics that are sanctioned for the 2012 season. Of these bowls, nine are officially designated as linked to the Southeastern Conference. Beyond this, at least one SEC team, the champion, is guaranteed a berth in one of the five Bowl Championship Series games. Of course based on the last half-decade the league champs should be in line to play in the B.C.S. Championship Game itself…where the SEC representative has come away with the crystal football for six-straight years now.

And, history also indicates a SEC squad will be berthed in one of the other four non-title B.C.S. games. Meaning that this league would have the opportunity to place up to nine more members in the various affiliated bowls, listed as follows.

In Mississippi State's case, the Bulldogs are going for a third-straight bowl season which would match the program's previous record run of bowling in 1998-2000. Under Coach Dan Mullen's management, Mississippi State returned to post-season play in 2010 and routed Michigan 52-14 in the Gator Bowl on New Years Day. The 2011 Bulldogs followed this up with a Music City Bowl berth, and a 23-17 win over Wake Forest.

Now the '12 team has a chance not only to match a record with a third-straight bowl; they can make history with a third consecutive post-season victory in as many years. And in the process, give Mississippi State six-straight bowl wins dating back to the 1999 Peach Bowl.

Note that the listed dates and times for these bowl remains subject to adjustment in coming months; and all times listed are Central.

AdvoCare V100 Independence, Shreveport, December 28 at 1:00 vs. ACC

Franklin American Mortgage Music City, Nashville, December 31, 11:00am vs. ACC

AutoZone Liberty, Memphis, December 31, 2:30 vs. Big East or CUSA

Chick-fil-A, Atlanta, December 31, 6:30 vs. ACC

TaxSlayer.com Gator, Jacksonville, January 1, 11:00am vs. Big Ten

Capital One, Orlando, January 1, noon vs. Big Ten

Outback, Tampa, January 1, noon vs. Big Ten

AT&T Cotton, Arlington, January 4, 7:00 vs. Big 12

BBVA Compass, Birmingham, January 5, noon vs. Big East

This season's list of B.C.S. games begin on New Years Day with the Rose Bowl at 4:00 central; and the Orange Bowl at 7:30. The Sugar Bowl is January 2 at 7:30, and the Fiesta on January 3 at 7:30. Then it is the B.C.S. Championship Game on January 7 at 7:30.

Gene's Page Top Stories