Jackson Is A Consensus All-SEC First Teamer

The whole league already knew Gabe Jackson was one of and perhaps the finest guard going this SEC season. Still it is always nice to have such status recognized formally. And Tuesday, Mississippi State's big Dog blocker was confirmed as a consensus first-team All-SEC lineman by conference coaches. Malcolm Johnson and Nickoe Whitley earned second-team honors.

Jackson added first-team honors by the SEC Coaches for 2013 today, to go with Monday's first-team All-SEC recognition by Associated Press. He joins 2012 cornerback Johnthan Banks, 2010 offensive tackle Derek Sherrod, and 2009 running back Anthony Dixon as Bulldogs playing for Coach Dan Mullen to earn first-team membership on both of the primary all-conference teams.

Last year Jackson had been an AP first-teamer but was second-team by the other 13 conference coaches, who cannot vote for their own players. He was a second-team selection by AP in 2011.

Thus Jackson becomes the first Bulldog receiving all-conference honors, either AP or Coaches, for three seasons since defensive back Derek Pegues in 2006-07-08. But he is the first offensive lineman with three years of All-SEC recognition since guard Wayne Harris in 1980-81-82.

The Coaches all-conference teams announced today included two more Bulldogs on the second team. Tight end/wide receiver Malcolm Johnson was named to the #2 offense, while free safety Nickoe Whitley was second-unit defense. It was a second honor for Whitley this week as he was an honorable mention by AP on Monday.

Whitley ended his college career by making the game-winning play in the Egg Bowl, forcing a fumble in overtime. He will miss the Liberty Bowl after having surgery to repair a knee ligament damaged in September and played on the rest of the senior season.

This means Whitley won't be able to try to tie, or break, the program interceptions record. His pick of Ole Miss in the finale gave him 15 for his career, one shy of the mark tied last season by Thorpe Award winner and now-NFL cornerback Banks. Whitley does lead all active (going into bowl season) NCAA players with his 15 interceptions, and finished with 229 tackles.

Junior Johnson got his first all-conference honor, having caught 29 passes for 378 yards this season.

And defensive lineman Chris Jones was honorable mention as well by AP, as a true freshman. There was no all-freshman team by media. The rookie defensive tackle/end played in all twelve games and led his team with both 10 quarterback hurries and 7.0 tackles for losses. More impressively, eight of his hurries were against SEC offenses.

During Mullen's tenure, 15 Bulldogs have been recognized as first, second, or honorable mention All-SEC by either AP or Coaches lists. Of these, 13 were signed for Mississippi State by Mullen; ten of those are Mississippi natives.

And every one of these All-SEC Bulldogs to play for Mullen who have graduated were on either active or practice NFL rosters this season.

ALL-SEC BULLDOGS of the Mullen Era

2009: RB Anthony Dixon (1 AP, 1 Coaches), DE Pernell McPhee (2 AP, 2 Coaches), OT Derek Sherrod (2 Coaches).

2010: DE Pernell McPhee (1 Coaches), OT Derek Sherrod (1, 1), LB Chris White (1 AP, 2 Coaches)

2011: DT Fletcher Cox (1 AP, 2 Coaches), RB Vick Ballard (2 AP), CB Johnthan Banks (2 AP), OG Gabe Jackson (2 AP).

2012: CB Johnthan Banks (1, 1), WR Chad Bumphis (2 AP), OG Gabe Jackson (1 AP, 2 Coaches), LB Cameron Lawrence (2, 2), RB LaDarius Perkins (2 AP), CB Darius Slay (2 Coaches).

2013: OG Gabe Jackson (1,1), TE Malcolm Johnson (2 Coaches), DT Chris Jones (HM AP), FS Nickoe Whitley (HM AP, 2 Coaches).

Gene's Page Top Stories