Bulldog Verbals Dominate All-Star Selections

On behalf of the Mississippi Association of Coaches, Starkville High School head football coach Jamie Mitchell revealed the state's All-Star roster for the annual grudge match against the state of Alabama. Mississippi State was well represented with eight Bulldog verbals selected for the Mississippi/Alabama All-Star game and four others for the Bernard Blackwell Classic.

"All of this is just a blessing," said Pascagoula defensive end Keith Joseph Jr. "My dad was picked to play in that game, so it means a lot to me to able to follow in his footsteps and accomplish some of the same things he was able to accomplish."

Joseph will be joined on the Magnolia State defensive line by Brandon big man Fletcher Adams.

The Mississippi secondary should have cowbells ringing with Bulldog pledges Jamal Peters of Bassfield, Chris Stamps of Warren Central and Jarvis Wilson of Tupelo.

Offensively, the Magnolia Staters will see offensive lineman Tommy Champion of Callaway, wide receiver Malik Dear and Oak Grove's Cameron Myers who could play wide receiver or defensive back.

The chance to play together under the home state banner means a lot to Joseph and his future teammates.

"All of this means a lot and it's going to be great to have a chance to play together with Jamal Paters, Fletcher (Adams) and the other guys," said Joseph. "We'll have a chance to spend some time together."

The group will not doubt seek to apply some positive peer pressure on remaining Bulldog recruiting targets Javon Patterson of Petal and Leo Lewis of Brookhaven who were both no doubt selections.

"There is a lot of talent in 2015 and I think we have the chance to do some big things in this game and in college," said Joseph.

Mississippi State fans will also have a rooting interest in the South team playing in the Bernard Blackwell Classic.

Collins standout Mark McLaurin will join Bay Springs do it all star Jonnas Spivey in the annual in state battle between north and south.

Louisville wide out Dontea Jones and Yazoo City LB Tim Washington will play on the north squad.

Mississippi All-Star team

Defensive backs

Aramani Linton - Walnut

Cameron Myers - Oak Grove

Chris Stamps - Warren Central

Ephrain Kitchen - South Panola

Jarvis Wilson - Tupelo

Richaud Floyd - Gulfport

Defensive line

Fletcher Adams - Brandon

Jauan Collins - Pascagoula

Keith Joseph - Pascagoula

D.J. Henderson - Clinton

Keontye Garner - Murrah


Michael Godley - Starkville


Fred Walls - Olive Branch

Joe Dillon - Tylertown

Jamal Peters - Bassfield

Justin Clifton - Tupelo

Jonathan Abram - East Marion

T.J. Jallow - Olive Branch

Leo Lewis - Brookhhaven

Offensive line

Tommy Champion - Callaway

Jarien Barksdale - South Panola

Thad Roberts - Petal

Ryan Gibson - St. Stanislaus

Rishard Cook - Hattiesburg

Javon Patterson - Petal

Drake Dorbeck - St. Aloysius

Marquez Griffin - Leake Central

Austin Riley - DeSoto Central


Brady Davis - Starkville

J'Mar Smith - Meridian

Running backs

Darrell Henderson - South Panola

LaDarius Galloway - Gentry

Jordan Wright - Pearl

Terrance Davis - Southaven

Wide receivers

Keenan Barnes - Madison Central

Willie Hibbler - North Panola

Malik Dear - Murrah

Trey Smith - Madison Central

Raphael Leonard - Starkville

Gene's Page Top Stories