Steve Robertson -

Bulldog Quarterback Again Named Mississippi's Top Football Player

It isn’t a surprise, it is an affirmation of Dak Prescott’s place in Mississippi State and state of Mississippi sports history.

A Haughton, La., native, Prescott was named the state’s top college football player Tuesday evening at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame. It was a repeat for Prescott, recipient of the same Trophy in 2014. The winner, taken from nominees provided by each of Mississippi’s ten four-year football programs, is decided by combined vote of state media and public.

Prescott is only the second repeat winner, and the sixth Bulldog. Previous winners were running back James Johnson in 1998, running back Jerious Norwood in 2005, running back Anthony Dixon in 2009, linebacker Chris White in 2010, guard Gabe Jackson in 2013, and now Prescott in ’14 and ’15.

Coach Dan Mullen joined Prescott and MSU officials in Jackson, a late-afternoon change of plans. The head coach had been scheduled to be out recruiting Tuesday, as beginning this week college coaches everywhere are out and about.

With the state’s top football honor secured again, now Prescott will look for an even bigger repeat opportunity. He is only the seventh Bulldog to be named first team All-SEC quarterback, in 2014 by both regional media and SEC coaches. State last had a repeat first-team quarterback on the all-conference team in 1956-57.

Mississippi State will learn Sunday evening (after 5:00ct) which bowl the Bulldogs are to play in. Depending on game date, tentative plans are for campus bowl camp to begin sometime in December 10th through 12th.

Mississippi State is most frequently projected for the Belk Bowl in Charlotte, against an Atlantic Coast Conference opponent. It will be a record sixth-straight postseason appearance by Mississippi State, all in Mullen’s seven seasons in Starkville. His teams are 3-2 in bowl games.

Gene's Page Top Stories