Fred Ross Also First-Team, De'Runnya Wilson Second Team

Dak Prescott is already rated a once-in-an-era Bulldog. Now he can be considered truly a once-in-a-lifetime Bulldog quarterback.

Prescott was named first team All-Southeastern Conference quarterback today by the league Coaches. This repeats for Prescott as he was also first team All-SEC as a 2014 junior, in both the media voting as well as the league coaches. The AP All-SEC teams are due out later.

He becomes the first Mississippi State quarterback to repeat as first team all-conference in six decades, and only the third ever to achieve such status. The legendary Jackie Parker was named the SEC’s first team back (not listed quarterback at the time though that was the position) in both 1952 and ’53. Then in 1956 and ’57 it was Billy Stacy earning the honor back-to-back years.

There have been only seven Mississippi State quarterbacks named the SEC’s best. The four one-timers were Tommy Pharr as a junior in 1968; Rockey Felker as a senior in 1974; Dave Marler as a senior in 1978; and Don Smith as a senior in 1986.

With one game left in his college and SEC career, Prescott has compiled the third-most offensive yards in league history behind only Georgia’s Aaron Murray and Florida’s Tim Tebow. He is also fourth in career touchdowns with 110.

Prescott holds no less than 38 Mississippi State records for game, season, and career achievements. And with a big bowl game he could claim two more, for career rushing touchdowns and career points. He needs one more rushing score to tie and two to pass Anthony Dixon’s 42; and ten more points to match Dixon’s 276.

Prescott is the biggest of big Dogs for 2015, but not the only one recognized as worthy of all-conference respect. His favorite targets this season both were honored. Fred Ross was also on the first team, while De’Runnya Wilson made the second team offense. It was the first such honor for these Dogs, both juniors.

No Mississippi State defensive players were named to either first or second teams, nor on the special teams. Individual honors voted by the Coaches will be released Wednesday, and the All-Freshman team on Thursday.

These selections bring the total of All-SEC Bulldogs from Mullen teams (first, second, honorable mention) to 22 through last year 28 times. The largest single group was six following the 2012 season. Prescott is State’s only 2014 repeater on an All-SEC team. The other four honored were seniors (guard Ben Beckwith, defensive end Preston Smith) or left early for the NFL (back Josh Robinson, linebacker Benardrick McKinney).

The next round of honors will be various all-American teams. Six Dogs in the Mullen era have been so recognized as first, second, third team or honorable mention. Prescott was an honorable mention by Sports Illustrated last season.

Mississippi State begins practicing for the Belk Bowl this Friday.

Gene's Page Top Stories