2004 Junior Sunbelt Classic Tourney - Wednesday

The Mississippi Stars finished in 6th place in the 2004 Junior Sunbelt Classic Tournament after losing to Arizona 5-1. The Stars wound up with a record of 4-6. The overall champion of the tournament was Georgia who defeated California 11-2. Mississippi defeated Georgia earlier in the tournament.

Arizona jumped on Mississippi early with 2 runs in each of the first two innings to go up 4-0. Mississippi scored their only run of the game in the top of the 6th only to see Arizona score 1 in their half of the inning. Brach Davis took the loss for the Mississippians. Mississippi collected 4 hits: Paul Gatchell, Brian Dozier, Alex Ward and Todd Summerlin each had a hit.

Players who hit the ball well are as follows

  • Paul Gatchell - 13 hits.
  • Dave Woods - 6 hits.
  • Brach Davis - 6 hits.
  • Brian Dozier - 9 hits.
  • Taylor Walker - 6 hits.
  • Todd Summerlin - 6 hits.

    Tournament tidbits

  • Two Mississippi players earned spots on the All-Tournament team; Brian Dozier and Paul Gatchell. Dozier played outstanding in the field and hit the ball well. Gatchell hit the ball well, getting a hit in every game. He also played very well in the field.
  • Although a lot of the Mississippi kids performed well, don't be surprised to hear a lot more about seniors Dozier, Gatchell and Cullen Kight as recruiting heats up among the D-I colleges in Mississippi.
  • If you own a corporation and would like to sponsor or help sponsor next year's team, you can contact Harry Porter, the Director of the Mississippi team, via email at biporter@juno.com.

    MISSISSIPPI ROSTER (Unless noted, all are seniors-to-be)

  • 1. Cory Chance - OF/RHP, Northeast Lauderdale H.S.
  • 2. Glendel Madden - RHP/3B, D'Iberville H.S.
  • 3. Taylor Walker - Junior, SS/2B/RHP, Senatobia H.S.
  • 4. Brach Davis - LHP/1B, Southaven H.S.
  • 5. Garrett Harris - Junior, RHP, New Hope H.S.
  • 6. Charlie Williams - LHP/OF, Saltillo H.S.
  • 7. Parker Temple - RHP/OF, West Lauderdale H.S.
  • 8. Timmy Foster - Junior, RHP/INF, Adams County Christian School
  • 9. Paul Gatchell - RHP/3B/SS, Pascagoula H.S.
  • 10. Dave Woods - C/RF, West Lauderdale H.S.
  • 11 Cullen Kight - RHP/1B, Simpson Academy
  • 12. Tyler McMullen - Junior., RHP/C, Meridian H.S.
  • 13. Brian Dozier - SS, Itawamba A.H.S.
  • 14. Alex Ward - C, Simpson Academy
  • 15. Zac Lott - RHP/INF, Seminary H.S.
  • 16. Kyle Fairly - RHP, Manchester Academy
  • 17. Austin Tayler - RHP, Kosciusko H.S
  • 18. Scott McCrory - C/RHP, Kosciusko H.S.
  • 19. Ricky Gardner - Sophomore., RHP, West Lauderdale H.S.
  • 20. Todd Summerlin - INF, Vancleave H.S.

    Gene Swindoll is the publisher/owner of Gene's Page, the source for Mississippi State sports on TheInsiders.com sports network. He can be reached by email at swindoll@genespage.com

  • Gene's Page Top Stories