Byrdsong Voted 2nd Team All-SEC, MSU Tabbed 6th

When SEC media asked specifically about the 2004 Bulldogs at the league press conference, practically all the questions were about the new West Coast offense Mississippi State will run this fall. Yet after all the media votes were tallied, the only Bulldog earning preseason all-conference was a defensive player.

Linebacker Marvin Byrdsong was the lone MSU player receiving enough votes to earn a place on the media all-SEC teams. The junior was tabbed to the second-unit defense.

This followed up last week's release of the preseason coaches all-SEC teams, where Byrdsong was a third-team selection. Two other Dogs, defensive back Quinton Culberson and offensive lineman Will Rogers, were on the Coaches third teams also. The media voted only for first, second, and special teams.

South Carolina and Arkansas were the only other teams with just one representative on the all-SEC squads. LSU again had the most players selected, seven, with six Georgia players tabbed. Interestingly, there was no player receiving all 88 possible media votes, the first time in years there was no unanimous selection.

Georgia received 61 of 88 votes cast predicting the 2004 SEC champion. Georgia also got 78 of 88 votes to win the Eastern Division, while LSU had 71 votes to win the Western Division.

Not surprisingly, Mississippi State was predicted to finish sixth in the West. If there was any twists to the team predictions, it was the lone vote South Carolina received to win both the East and the overall SEC crown.

FIRST TEAM OFFENSE: TE Cooper Wallace, Auburn; OL Wesley Britt, Alabama; OL Max Jean-Gilles, Georgia; OL Michael Munoz, Tennessee; OL Doug Buckles, Mississippi; C Ben Wilkerson, LSU; QB David Greene, Georgia; RB Carnell Williams, Auburn; RB Justin Vincent, LSU; WR Fred Gibson, Georgia; WR Skyler Green, LSU

SECOND TEAM OFFENSE: TE David Jones, LSU; OL Marcus McNeill, Auburn; OL Andrew Whitworth, LSU; OL Justin Geisinger, Vanderbilt; OL Marcus Johnson, Mississippi; C Mike Degory, Florida; QB Chris Leak, Florida; RB Ciatrick Fason, Florida; RB Cedric Houston, Tennessee; WR EriK Davis, Vanderbilt; WR Reggie Brown, Georgia, WR Mike Espy, Mississippi.

FIRST TEAM DEFENSE: DL David Pollack, Georgia; DL Marcus Spears, LSU; DL Sweet Pea Burns, Kentucky; LB Kevin Burnett, Tennessee; LB Odell Thurman, Georgia; LB DeMeco Ryans, Alabama; LB Channing Crowder, Florida; DB Tommy Davis, Georgia; DB Corey Webster, LSU; DB Carlos Rogers, Auburn; DB Travis Daniels, LSU.

SECOND TEAM DEFENSE: DL Jovan Haye, Vanderbilt; DL Moe Thompson, South Carolina; DL Anthony Bryant, Alabama; DL Jeb Huckeba, Arkansas; LB Lionel Turner, LSU; LB Kevin Simon, Tennessee; LB Marvin Byrdsong, MSU; LB Freddie Roach, Alabama; LB Eric Oliver, Mississippi; DB Junior Rosegreen, Auburn; DB Charlie Peprah, Alabama; DB LaRon Landry, LSU.

FIRST TEAM SPECIAL TEAMS: P Dustin Colquitt, Tennessee; PK Jonathan Nichols, Mississippi; RS Skyler Green, LSU.

SECOND TEAM SPECIAL TEAMS: P Cody Ridgeway, Mississippi; PK Matt Leach, Florida; RS Tre Smith, Auburn.


SEC CHAMPION: Georgia (61), LSU (19), Florida (5), Auburn (1), Ole Miss (1), South Carolina (1)

EASTERN DIVISION: (first place votes/total points) 1.Georgia 78/100; 2.Florida 9/186; 3.Tennessee 278; 4.South Carolina 1/375; 5.Vanderbilt 419; 6.Kentucky 490.

WESTERN DIVISION: 1.LSU 71/108; 2.Auburn 14/197; 3.Mississippi 2/304; 4.Alabama 1/331. 5.Arkansas 418. 6.Mississippi State 490.

David Murray is the Editor of Dawgs' Bite magazine and the featured writer for the Dawgs Bite, Powered by website. You can contact him by email at

Gene's Page Top Stories