Tan White Named a Kodak/WBCA All-American

<b>ATLANTA, Ga.</b> - Mississippi State senior guard Tan White was named to the 2005 Division I women's basketball Kodak/WBCA All-America team announced the WBCA Saturday. The Kodak/WBCA All-America Awards honor the 10 best collegiate women's basketball players in the nation.<P>

White was one of two players on the team from the Southeastern Conference, along with LSU's Seimone Augustus. The Tupelo, Miss. native joins former Lady Bulldog LaToya Thomas as the only two Kodak All-Americans from Mississippi State.

"It is overwhelming and exciting to be named a Kodak All-American," said senior guard Tan White. "It really means a lot to me to get this award. I'm honored to be recognized among such good talent and it's a great way to end my college career."

The 2005 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award recipient has led the nation in scoring for eight weeks with 23.5 points per game. The four-time all-SEC honoree was also named to the Associated Press All-America second team for her senior year performance. Concluding her Maroon and White career with 2,421 career points, White became just the second Lady Bulldog to reach the 2,000-point plateau on the way to owning five MSU career categories. The SEC's All-Time Career Steals leader is also a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award and a semifinalist for the Collegiate Basketball Award of Excellence.

"We are very excited that Tan has been chosen as a Kodak All-American," said head coach Sharon Fanning. "To be identified as one of the 10 best players in the nation is quite an honor. This will be a special weekend for Tan. She will participate in the All-Star Challenge, be recognized as a Kodak All-American, and receive the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award for the best player in the country 5-8 and under. Mississippi State University, the state of Mississippi and the Southeastern Conference, can be proud of Tan's accomplishments and the way she has represented all of us."

Other members of the 2005 Kodak/WBCA team are Seimone Augustus (LSU), Jacqueline Batteast (Notre Dame), Monique Currie (Duke), Jessica Davenport (Ohio State), Sandora Irvin (TCU), Janel McCarville (Minnesota), Kendra Wecker (Kansas State), Candice Wiggins (Stanford) and Sophia Young (Baylor).

In addition to the Kodak All-America ceremony and Frances Pomeroy Naismith luncheon, White will also participate in the WBCA All-Star Challenge game Saturday in the second of a doubleheader event starting at 4:30 p.m. CT at the University of Indianapolis' Nicoson Hall.

The WBCA All-Star Challenge will take place as part of a doubleheader prelude to the NCAA Women's Final Four in Indianapolis, Ind. The WBCA All-Star Challenge features 17 of the top senior NCAA Division I players, voted on by Division I Head Coaches, and the NCAA Division II, III and NAIA levels.

The 2005 roster includes Penn State's Jess Strom and Tanisha Wright, Texas' Jamie Carey and Heather Schreiber, Tennessee's Loree Moore and Shyra Ely, LSU's Temeka Johnson, Oklahoma's Dionnah Jackson and Notre Dame's Jacqueline Batteast.

Rounding out the roster are Tan White of Mississippi State, Sandora Irvin of Texas Christian, Caity Matter of Ohio State, Florida State's Roneeka Hodges, Kansas State's Kendra Wecker, Janel McCarville of Minnesota, Steffanie Blackmon of Baylor, and Jessica Moore from the University of Connecticut.

2005 Kodak All-Americans

Seimone Augustus, LSU
Jacqueline Batteast, Notre Dame
Monique Currie, Duke
Jessica Davenport, Ohio State
Sandora Irvin, TCU
Janel McCarville, Minnesota
Kendra Wecker, Kansas State
Tan White, Mississippi State
Candice Wiggins, Stanford
Sophia Young, Baylor

Gene's Page Top Stories