Preseason Football Roster Set For Summer

With preseason practices less than two months away the Mississippi State football office has set the roster for the coming August camp. Based on the official roster, the MSU staff is anticipating that 23 of the 26 new players signed for 2005 will be in uniform.

The three February recruits not listed on the official roster are defensive linemen Jessie Bowman and Louis Ellis, and running back Tim Holloway. All other new recruits, including 22 high schoolers and one juco signee, have been issued numbers. One of these, cornerback Keith Fitzhugh, enrolled for the spring semester and practiced with the varsity.

Also, the new roster reflects several changes of varsity numbers from 2004. Coach Sylvester Croom made a point going into camp that all ‘jersies' were up-for-grabs in the spring and that has held true. Some players took digits vacated by graduations, but many varsity Dogs lost their numbers and some of these jersies have been assigned to newcomers. Croom has not said if there could be further changes in fall camp.

There are also some numbers not being utilized going into preseason, leaving room to award walk-ons or, in the case of several current duplications, to outfit more players for a non-conference game.

The latest official number list follows:

1 Keith Fitzhugh DB, 2 Quinton Culberson LB, 3 Derek Pegues DB, 5 Gabe O'Neal LB, 6 Mario Bobo DB, 7 Michael Henig QB, 8 Adron Chambers WR, 9 Keon Humphries WR

10 Jonathan Lowe WR, 11 Will Prosser FL, 12 Jerious Norwood RB, 13 Jamaal Johnson DB, 14 Omarr Conner QB, 15 Marcus Evans DB, 16 Ty Evans QB, 17 Tray Rutland QB, 18 Brett Morgan QB, 19 Tee Milons SE

20 Jarvis Kyles DB, 20 Leron Yarbrough DB, 22 Anthony Johnson DB, 22 Akeem Mills DB, 23 David Heard CB, 24 Kentrel Brooks RB, 25 Tyler Threadgill WR, 26 Derek Ambrose RB, 27 Brandon Thonrton RB, 28 Jonathan Hill DB, 29 Clarence McDougal LB

30 Kevin Dockery CB/S, 31 Casey Rogers RB, 32 Ellis Burns RB, 32 Carlton Rice LB, 33 Demarcus Johnson RB, 34 Jeramie Johnson S, 35 Brandon Hart RB, 36 Wille Evans DE, 37 Adam Carlson KS, 37 Grailen Johnson DB, 38 Brooks Crabtree P, 39 Fred Akines LB

40 Adrian Griffin DB, 41 Bryson Davis FB, 42 Archie Sims LB, 43 Blake McAdams P/DB, 44 Brad Horton LB, 45 De'Mon Glanton DB, 46 Keith Andrews K, 47 Andrew Gambrell P, 48 Dezmond Sherrod RB, 49 Terrence Beaman LB

50 Chris McNeil OC, 51 Avery Hannibal DT, 52 Jay Bowles DS, 52 Jimmy Miller LB, 53 Anthony Strauder OG, 54 Titus Brown DE, 55 Brian Anderson OG, 56 Anthony Littlejohn LB, 57 Soloman Ona DL, 58 Michael Heard DE, 59 Johnny Carpenter OL

60 Chris Spencer OL, 62 Russell Cook DS, 63 Mike Evans DL, 66 James Cochran OT, 67 Roland Terry OL, 68 Johnny Wadley OG

70 Avery House OL, 71 James Redmond OT, 72 Anthony Dunning DL, 73 Dio Herrera OC/G, 74 Erik Watkins OT, 75 Craig Jenkins OL, 76 Royce Blackledge OL, 79 Calvin Wilson OL

80 Michael Gates TE, 80 Lance Long WR, 81 Tay Bowser WR, 82 Jason Husband TE, 83 Joey Sanders WR, 84 Aubrey Bell WR, 85 Corey Gardhigh WR, 85 Jaymayel Smith WR, 87 Rob Walker DL, 88 Eric Butler TE, 89 Britt Cross SN

90 Antonio Johnson DL, 91 Jeremy Jack DL, 92 Charles Burns DL, 93 Jeremy Jones DL, 94 Andrew Powell DT, 95 Stephen Arant DL, 96 Marckell McKinley DT, 97 Corey Clark DT, 98 Deljuan Robinson DT, 99 Quinton Wesley DL

Gene's Page Top Stories