MSU Places 34 on SEC Fall Academic Honor Roll

STARKVILLE, Miss. ­- Mississippi State placed 34 student-athletes on the Southeastern Conference Fall Academic Honor Roll, the league office announced Thursday, a figure that ranked seventh among all conference schools.

The Bulldog football team produced 20 of the 34 honorees for the school. Graduate students Jeremy Jack and Will Prosser topped the State pigskin list. Seniors Derek Ambrose, Keith Andrews, Russell Cook, Britt Cross, Marcus Evans, Chris McNeil, Brett Morgan, Casey Rogers and Leron Yarbrough accounted for MSU's largest class on the honor roll. Juniors Brian Anderson, Jonathan Hill, Brad Horton, Lance Long, Carlton Rice and Dezmond Sherrod also made the list. Sophomores Michael Henig, Dio Herrera and Anthony Strauder earned all-academic honors for the first time. State's 20 football selections were sixth best in the league.

MSU's women's soccer team placed nine members on the team: Stephanie Dallas, Treena Ferguson, Emily Meyers, Sara Moore, Meghan Odom, Heidi Ondra, Brandi Parker, Kevyn Shelledy and Jennifer Turpin.

Rachel Cooper, Jamie Joyner, Orsolya Kriegel, Andrea Mead and Erin Seago were volleyball student-athletes earning SEC Fall Academic Honor Roll recognition.

Kentucky placed 52 student-athletes on the chart, 41 in sports played by Mississippi State, to lead the league. South Carolina had 50 athletes recognized for their fall semester achievements, 38 in sports in which MSU competes. Tennessee had 46 nominees for third place overall.

Florida had 43 student-athletes recognized, a number matched by Vanderbilt, although only 30 of those VU athletes participated in sports played by MSU. Georgia (41) and LSU (39) were the only other two schools with more honorees than State.

Auburn (33), Arkansas (30), Alabama (23) and Ole Miss (22) rounded out the 2005 SEC Fall Semester Honor Roll, which was based on grades from the 2005 Spring, Summer and Fall terms.

Gene's Page Top Stories