MSU Commitment Scoreboard Update 10-27

The MSU commitment scoreboard update is a weekly feature available to all readers. The update gives you, the reader, the chance to see how the Bulldogs-to-be fared in their most recent games.

Colton Jenkins and Winona had one for the ages. When Tre Kent converted an extra point to put Mooreville up 33-20 over Winona in the 4th quarter, most people probably thought it was all over, but the crying.

Winona put together a remarkable comeback and stormed all the way back to take the lead 36-33 in the final minutes. Colton Jenkins put the final touches on the senior night win with a late sack to remove any chance of last second heroics from Mooreville. Winona finishes the regular season at 5-5.

Antwon Dixon and Terry won the district championship with a 14-10 decision over McComb. A late strip by a Terry defensive back was returned for the winning touchdown. Terry is the #1 seed and will host in the first round.

Mike Hunt and the Franklin County defense denied a possible game tying two point attempt by Tylertown in the fourth quarter to hang on 14-12. Franklin County (9-1) wins the district title and the #1 seed.

Jamariey Atterberry scored two touchdowns including the game winner as Kosciusko (8-2) knocked of West Lauderdale 21-14. With the win, the Whippets are district champs and the #1 seed.

Addison Lawrence and Magnolia Heights (9-0) kept their perfect record intact with a 21-14 win over Lee Academy.

Jazzmen Guy and Damein Anderson helped Hazlehurst run their record to 7-2 with a 37-22 win over Crystal Springs. Anderson had a 19-yard touchdown pass and converted a two point conversion later in the game.

Korentheus Bailey and East Hall run their record to 4-4 and 2-1 in the district with a 14-10 win over White County.

Quentin Saulsberry and Independence appear to be in the playoffs after a 41-20 win over Marks Palmer. Independence is now 5-5 on the season and 4-2 in the district.

Chris Relf and Carver (3-5) saw their postseason chances come to a likely end with a 14-12 heartbreaking loss to Sidney Lanier.

Antonio White and Simmons (7-2) got upset tonight by Leflore County 14-6.

Ethan Stockett and Southside fell to 5-4 with a 28-23 loss to Bentonville.

Lee Chambers and Coffeeville (4-5) lose 12-6 to Durant.

Eric Richards and Warren Central drop to 4-6 with a 14-3 loss to Provine. Eric has a 25 yard FG on the evening.

Marcus Green and Kemper County (4-6) came up just short against West Lowndes 35-31.

Derek Sherrod and Caledonia end up 3-7 after a narrow 10-9 loss to Amory.

D.J. Looney and Oak Mountain (4-5) just didn't have an answer for Hoover tonight. The Bucs roll 42-20.

Dakota Merritt and West Florida Tech continue to struggle. Tech falls to 0-9 after a 48-0 loss to Washington.

Maurice Crutison and Port Gibson drop to (0-9) with a 36-2 loss to Florence. If necessary, Port Gibson will play a rescheduled game at McComb next week.

Karlin Brown and Lincoln (6-2) enjoyed a bye week. Next week the city championship and undefeated Godby.

Archie Sims and Tim Holloway fell to Co-Lin 16-3. JCJC has been eliminated from playoff contention. Co-Lin wins the South division championship. Pearl River earns the two seed.

Jimmie Holmes and Jonathan Williams saw their MDCC careers come to a close after a 29-6 loss to Northwest CC. MDCC ends the season 4-5.

Co-Eric Riley and MGCCC are on the outside looking in at the playoffs. Gulf Coast ends the season 7-2 after a 14-7 loss to Southwest, but may get into a junior college bowl game.

Gene's Page Top Stories