Easley Wins Boo Ferriss Trophy

CLEVELAND, Miss. - For the second consecutive year, a Mississippi State baseball player has been selected as the Cellular South Boo Ferriss Award winner. Junior catcher Ed Easley won the 2007 edition of the award that was announced Monday night in Cleveland, Miss. on the Delta State University campus.

The award, sponsored by Cellular South, is awarded to the top collegiate baseball player in the state of Mississippi. Easley, a native of Olive Branch, Miss., started all 51 games behind the dish for MState and paced the offense with 77 hits, 27 for extra bases along with 12 home runs and 59 runs batted in. Defensively, Easley has throw out 26 base stealers on the campaign which makes him a finalist for the Johnny Bench Award - which goes to the nation's top catcher.

"What a great honor it is to win this award," said Ed Easley. "I would first like to thank my parents for always supporting me and not missing a game ­ home or away throughout my career. Thanks also to the coaching staff and Coach Polk for giving me an opportunity."

In 2006, former MSU shortstop Thomas Berkery claimed the award that is named after another former Diamond Dog standout Dave "Boo" Ferriss. Ferriss had an outstanding professional career with the Boston Red Sox before entering the coaching ranks at Delta State. Other 2007 finalists were Ole Miss shortstop Zach Cozart and Belhaven's Thomas Royals.

Easley and the Bulldogs will participate in the 2007 Southeastern Conference Baseball Tournament in Hoover, Ala., beginning on Wednesday, May 23. State opens the eight-team field as the No. 4 seed and will play No. 5 seed Ole Miss at 8 p.m. CST at Regions Park.

Gene's Page Top Stories