Sly Named AFCA Region 2 Coach of the Year

Sylvester Croom has had his name mentioned in association with several post season awards and earlier today the first Coach of the Year award was announced.

The American Football Coaches' Association named Mississippi State's Sylvester Croom the Region 2 Coach of the Year.

The AFCA recognizes five coaches in five different regions each year for Division I. This year's winners are as followed:

Region 1: Jeff Jagodzinski, Boston College; Rich Rodriguez, West Virginia University (tie)

Region 2: Sylvester Croom, Mississippi State University

Region 3: Ron Zook, University of Illinois

Region 4: Mark Mangino, University of Kansas

Region 5: Troy Calhoun, U.S. Air Force Academy

"What makes this award so special is that this is the only coach of the year award voted on exclusively by the coaches themselves," AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff said. "The winners are selected by the coaches they compete with and against on a daily basis."

The AFCA will announce it's National Coach of the Year on January 9th at the AFCA national convention.

Coach Sylvester Croom and his 7-5 Mississippi State Bulldogs will take on the University of Central Florida on December 29th in the 49th Annual Liberty Bowl.

Gene's Page Top Stories