Croom Named FCA National Coach of the Year

STARKVILLE, Miss. – Mississippi State head football coach Sylvester Croom was named the 2007 Grant Teaff Coach of the Year by the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, the national organization announced Thursday.

The award was presented to Croom at the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Convention in Anaheim, Calif.

In his fourth season as head coach at MSU, Croom led the Bulldogs to an 8-5 record in '07, a season capped by a 10-3 victory over Central Florida in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl in Memphis, Tenn. It was the first winning season and the first post-season bowl appearance by State in seven years.

"Coach Croom is a man's man and a player's coach, teaching character and class and expecting discipline and maximum effort on and off the field," Dal Shealey, former FCA President and current Emeritus Trustee, said. "He is a great choice to receive this year's FCA Grant Teaff Coach of the Year Award."

Croom, the consensus Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year, has also been recognized by the AFCA as its Region 2 Coach of the Year and is one of seven finalists for the American Heart Association Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year. He was also a finalist for the Liberty Mutual National Coach of the Year.

Gene's Page Top Stories