Polk Sets Travel Roster For Opening Weekend

They still haven't been told who will be starting where and when. But this morning 35 Diamond Dogs found out they have a seat on the team bus leaving tomorrow for Jacksonville and Mississippi State's opening series of the 2008 baseball season.

Coach Ron Polk posted the 35-man travel roster for the three-game series at North Florida this Wednesday morning. Mississippi State's skipper has not put together a lineup or pitching rotation, or at least had not as of Tuesday afternoon at practice. "I'll work on the lineup on the bus Thursday," Polk said. "And I might not finish it until game-time Friday."

The series begins Friday with a 4:00(ct) game at the Baseball Grounds of Jacksonville, a pro park; then moves to the UNF campus for noon games on Saturday and Sunday. The third game is supposed to be available on a pay-per-view plan through North Florida's Atlantic Sun Conference network affiliate.

The travel roster for this opening weekend is:

CATCHERS: Ryan Duffy, Johnny Allen, Brooks Lewis, Scott DeLoach, Cody Freeman

INFIELDERS: 3B/1B Connor Powers, 3B/ss Russ Sneed, SS Jet Butler, SS/2B Ryan Powers, 2B Brandon Turner, 2B Will Coggin, 1B/of Jeff Flagg, 1B/rf Cade Hoggard, 1B Tyler Moore, 1B/lhp Forrest Moore

OUTFIELDERS: Mark Goforth, Nick Hardy, Andy Rice, Grant Hogue, Ryan Collins, Jason Nappi (also 3b)

RIGHTHANDED PITCHERS: Chad Crosswhite, John Lalor, Ricky Bowen, Aaron Weatherford, Greg Houston, Jared Koon, Drew Hollinghead, Michael Busby, Lee Swindle

LEFTHANDED PITCHERS: Justin Pigott, Jesse Carver, Jared Wesson, Tyler Whitney, Andy Wilson

At his pre-season press conference Polk said the roster, as well as the lineups, would be assembled with input from the team's tri-captains and assistant coaches. Along with this, those ‘votes' would go a long way in settling who might redshirt this 2008 season, though with 14 games preceding SEC play there will be opportunities for some Diamond Dogs who aren't on this weekend's trip to get an inning or at-bat yet.

But this 35-man list will have to be further trimmed to 25 for SEC season, which begins March 14 when State hosts Ole Miss in the opening league weekend.

Players not making this weekend's roster are (alphabetically) LHP Shawn Marquardt, , RHB Paxton Pace, OF Brent Brownlee (recovering from surgery), OF Sean Johnson, MIF Ryan Rubino, 3B/C Bobby Triglia, and transfer OF Luke Adkins who is sitting out this season already.

Gene's Page Top Stories