Battle Of The South Classic (March 26-28)

What has become the premiere event to kick off the AAU basketball season in the South returns this weekend as the 16th Annual Battle of the South Classic is set to rock Jackson, Mississippi. 135 teams from Mississippi, Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Texas, Louisiana, Georgia, Tennessee, and Oklahoma will play an amazing 265 games in three days.

It is without question the largest and most talented AAU boys' basketball tournament ever held in the state of Mississippi and one of the largest in the southeast region.

The event will include eight (8) boys divisions: 10-under, 11-under, 12-under, 13-under, 14-under, 15-under, 16-under, and 17-under. Once again, games will be played at the state-of-the-art Mississippi Basketball & Athletics Complex and Jackson State University T.B. Ellis Gym. Games will begin Friday at 6:00 pm.

"Over the last 15 years, the Battle of the South Classic has grown into one of the marquee spring tournaments for players and coaches to kick off their AAU season," said LeMond Roy, event founder and director. "It is an incredible atmosphere to watch the best basketball talent in the southeast region and the country.

"We want Jackson to be known as a premier basketball city."

The previous Battle of the South Classics have been huge successes with great teams participating and boasting some of the best AAU traveling teams and players in the country. A host of talented prospects have rocked the courts at the Battle of the South Classic Tournament over the years.

Here's just a few of the alumni that have made their presence felt at this event... Monta Ellis (Golden State Warriors) • Mo Williams (Cleveland Cavaliers) • Glenn "Big Baby" Davis (Boston Celtics) • Greg Monroe (Geogetown University) • Renardo Sidney (Mississippi State University) • DeMarcus Cousins (Kentucky) • Shaunessy Smith (Mississippi State University) • Kenneth Cooper (University of Oklahoma) • Donald Perry (Indiana University) • Carrett Temple (LSU) • Storm Warren (LSU) • Terrance Henry (Ole Miss) • Romero Osby (Mississippi State University) • Biko Paris (Boston College) • LaceDarius Dunn (Baylor University) • Kodi Augustus (Mississippi State University) • Cyrus McGowan (University of Miami) • Jeremy Wise (University of Southern Miss) • Darius Rice (University of Miami) • Chey Christie (Clemson University) • Emanual Willis (USC) • Malcolm Kirkland (Oklahoma State) • Dundrecous Nelson (Ole Miss) • Matt Derenbecker (LSU) • Jalan Courtney (LSU) • Johnny O'Bryant ( c/o of 2011 Top 10 player) • LaQuinton Ross ( c/o of 2011 Top 20 player) • Andre Stringer (LSU) • Deville Smith ( c/o of 2011 Top 100 player) • Rodney Hood ( c/o of 2011 Top 55 player), just to name a few!

For more information or to get the compete tournament schedule please visit

Notable teams participating:

  • Houston Select (2009 13u AAU National Champions)
  • Southwest Elite (OK)
  • Slidell Swat Elite (LA)
  • MBA Hoops (MS)
  • Memphis Magic
  • Southern Kings (GA)
  • Southern Phenoms (MS)
  • Team Atlanta (GA)
  • New Orleans Revolution
  • Ascension Jaguars (LA)
  • Louisiana Primetime Select
  • Arkansas Rimrockers
  • Alabama Elite
  • Houston Rookies (TX)
  • New Orleans Select
  • Alabama Team Terriers
  • Baton Rouge Lightning
  • Full Court Athletes (TX)
  • Georgia Press
  • Texas Jaguars
  • Atlanta Select
  • Louisiana Bayou Flames
  • Jackson Panthers (MS)
  • DFW-Panthers Select 2014 (TX)
  • Birmingham Metro Express (AL)
  • Birmingham Stars
  • Arkansas Stars Select
  • Georgia Titans
  • Georgia Defenders
  • New Orleans Future
  • Mississippi D1 Ambassadors
  • Houston Flight

  • Gene's Page Top Stories