LaToya Thomas Honored

STARKVILLE, Miss. - Senior forward LaToya Thomas has been named the 2003 Mississippi Amateur Athlete of the Year by the Jackson Touchdown Club. Thomas will be honored at the 41st Annual Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Induction Ceremonies which will be held on Friday, April 4, 2003 at 6:30 p.m. at the Vicksburg Convention Center.

Thomas will be honored along with New Orleans Saints running back Deuce McAllister as the 2003 Mississippi Professional Athlete of the Year.

Thomas earns a spot on United States Basketball Writers Association All-America team for the second straight year. She is one of five repeat winners from last season's USBWA All-America team. Also selected again by USBWA members are Chantelle Anderson of Vanderbilt, Alana Beard of Duke, Kelly Mazzante of Penn State and Lindsay Whalen of Minnesota.

Other nominees include Kara Lawson of Tennessee, Nicole Ohlde of Kansas State, Jocelyn Penn of South Carolina, Diana Taurasi of Connecticut and Kendra Wecker of Kansas State.

USBWA Player of the Year is Diana Taurasi of Connecticut, Coach of the Year is Geno Auriemma of Connecticut and Freshman of the Year is Seimone Augustus of LSU.

Thomas is the first Lady Bulldog in history to receive USBWA All-America honors. She was also named the USBWA Freshman of the Year in 2000.

Gene's Page Top Stories