MU vs. KU Highlights & Lowlights

Our resident statistics expert takes a look back at some of the highs and lows in the MU vs. KU rivalry during the 1958 to 2004 era.


In one of the more bizarre finishes in the rivalry, Kansas apparently is headed for the win when the Tigers give up an 80-yard TD pass with 18 seconds left. But Dale Pidcock rushed in from the left end to block the kick and salvage a 13-13 tie and second place in the Big 8.


Kansas used a 9-man line to shut down Missouri's running game but since they knowingly used Bert Coan (who scored two TDs in the game) who was ineligible, the game would later be forfeited to the Tigers.


The Tigers drove from deep in their territory to take a 10-7 lead in the fourth quarter on Bill Tobin's 3-yard run. Ron Taylor hit three passes for 41 yards on the drive with the biggest a 20-yarder to Vince Turner at the KU 8. It wasn't over until the Tigers stopped KU a yard short of the first down with 51 seconds left at the 16-yard line.


Bill Leistritz's 22-yard field goal with six minutes left in the game gave the Tigers a 9-7 win over Kansas. Vince Turner had stunned the Kansas crowd earlier as they appeared to be going in for a TD, when a fumble was scooped up in the end zone and returned 102 yards for a touchdown the other way in the first quarter. The game was delayed a week due to the assassination of President Kennedy.


The Tigers broke open a 14-14 4th quarter tie with the game's final 20 points in a 34-14 win. They drove 68 and 57 yards on consecutive drives finished with TD runs by Charlie Brown and Gus Otto. Kansas fumbled on its' own 11 with 12 seconds left and Mike Jones went in for his only play of the season and completed a TD pass to Jim Waller.


In a 44-20 win over Kansas, Charlie Brown rushed for 158 yards and clinched the Big 8 rushing championship.


The Tigers beat Kansas 7-0 as the scoring came on a 54-yard pass from Gary Kombrink to Earl Denny.


Kansas edged Missouri 21-19 as a blocked extra point and a missed two point conversion proved the difference. The Tigers trailed 21-6 and scored two 4th quarter touchdowns, keyed by 30 and 42 yards passes from Terry McMillan to Mel Gray but McMillan missed 2-point run left the Tigers short


Mel Gray and Jon Staggers each scored three touchdowns in a 69-21 win over Kansas that clinched a share of the Big 8 title. Terry McMillan threw four touchdown passes two to both Staggers and Gray.


Kansas took a 17-15 lead over the Tigers in the 4th quarter trying to ruin Dan Devine's finale but Mel Gray returned the ensuing kickoff 97 yards for a touchdown as MU won 28-17.


The Tigers couldn't hold a 13-0 4th quarter lead and lost to Kansas 14-13. The Tigers scored twice in 58 seconds on a 45-yard keeper by Ray Smith and 53-yard punt return by John Moseley. David Jaynes two 14-yard touchdown passes gave Kansas the lead..


The Tigers beat Kansas 27-3 for their 4th win in the last 5 but did not receive a bowl invite despite a 5-2 Big 8 record. Tony Galbreath got MU going with a 91-yard TD run, finishing with 137 yards and 2 touchdowns.


Kansas beat the Tigers 24-22, leaving Al Onofrio 1-6 in the series, in what would be his last game as MU's head coach.


The Tigers salvaged a winning season (5-4-2) and pulled one out over Kansas 16-10 on a late 76-yard touchdown pass from Marlon Adler to James Caver.


The Tigers needed a win over Kansas and an Oklahoma win over Nebraska for a share of the Big 8 title but neither happened. The Tigers couldn't hold a halftime lead and Elvis Patterson blocked and recovered a punt in the endzone for a 37-27 lead and the Tigers self-destructed in the 4th-quarter with a fumble and two interceptions in the endzone.


The Tigers had a big turnaround in a week, after giving up 681 yards rushing in a 77-0 loss to Oklahoma and followed that up with a 48-0 win over Kansas as Cameron hit Victor Moore on touchdown passes of 45 and 35 yards late in the first half sandwiched around an Erik McMillan interception.

1987 The Tigers beat Kansas 19-7 to finish 5-6 as two blown 4th quarter leads cost them a winning season. The defense held KU to 155 total yards and Tommy Stowers rushed for 130 yards.


Woody went out with a bang beating Kansas for the third straight time, 55-17. Mike Jones rushed for 165 yards to lead the offense that rushed for 471 yards.


The Tigers were running out of time but and allowed Kansas to score so they could get the ball back down 46-38. They drove the length of the field and scored on Stowers 1*yard run with 29 seconds left to cut it to 46-44 but Kiefer 2-point pass to Chamberlain was ruled out-of-bounds.


The Tigers beat Kansas 31-21 in the finale as Phil Johnson passed for 309 yards and Linzy Collins finished his career in style catching 9 passes for 229 yards and two touchdowns (50,10).


In the season finale, the Tigers upset 22nd ranked Kansas 22-17 on five Jeff Jacke field goals. Kansas starting QB, Chip Hilleary was knocked out early in the game on a hit by DeMontie Cross.


Bob Stull's last game was a whimper as they lost 28-0 to Kansas as Brian Sallee took over for injured Jeff Handy at quarterback.


The Tigers finished 5-6 with a 42-25 throttling of Kansas as Corby Jones scored on touchdown runs of 80 and 37 yards. Olivo added three short TD runs.


The Tigers trailed Kansas 23-20 in the second half before blitzing them with the game's final 21 points including long scoring runs by Corby Jones (48 yards) and Devin West (45 yards) in the 4th quarter. It was a school recording setting day for West who rushed for 319 yards that day.


The Tigers came from behind to beat Kansas 38-34 on a 14-yard touchdown pass from Kirk Farmer to Dwayne Blakley in the 4th quarter with 7:20 left.

Black & Gold Illustrated Top Stories