ECAC Lambert Football Poll Presented by FieldTurf

Mids show well in first poll of the season.

ECAC Lambert Football Poll Presented by FieldTurf Announced

CAPE COD, Mass. (October 5, 2004) - The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has announced the first ECAC® Lambert Football Poll presented by FieldTurf for the 2004 season. The ECAC will conduct the weekly poll through December 7 in each of the four divisions. The final poll which will determine the Lambert Meadowlands Award winners will be announced the week of January 3.

Established in 1936 as the "Lambert Trophy" to recognize supremacy in eastern college football, the award has since grown to recognize the best teams in the East in Divisions I-A, I-AA, II and III. Before asking the ECAC to assume the administration, the Meadowlands Sports Complex managed the weekly poll and the award beginning in 1983 through the 2001 season.

To be eligible for the Lambert Meadowlands Awards, a school must be located in the East or play half of its schedule against eligible Lambert teams. The territory includes New York, New Jersey, New England and Pennsylvania while teams in the bordering states of Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia and the District of Columbia qualify if half of their schedule features eligible teams. With the departures of University of Miami and Virginia Tech to the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) beginning this season, they are no longer eligible for the award.

This year, 156 schools are eligible in the four divisions including 11 in Division I-A, 44 in Division I-AA, 27 in Division II and 74 in Division III. Four separate panels of media, one in each division, participate in a weekly poll and the final poll determines the winners. Playoffs and bowl games are including in the polling.

The poll results are based on a 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 point scale and first place votes are listed in parenthesis (). The following are the results for games played through October 2.

About the ECAC

The ECAC is the nation's largest athletic conference with 322 Divisions I, II, and III colleges and universities from Maine to North Carolina. Established in 1938, the ECAC, a non-profit service organization, sponsors 114 championships in 35 men's and women's sports including six football championships in Division III. The ECAC assigns more than 5,100 officials in 15 sports, including 785 football officials totally more than 3,500 assignments. The Conference, located on Cape Cod, administers ten affiliate sports organizations while recognizing more than 4,000 student-athletes in 21 sports through the public relations program. Last year, the ECAC honored 154 football players of the week while also recognizing 243 football all-stars including 14 players of the year and rookies of the year.

ECAC® Lambert Division I-A Football Poll presented by FieldTurf
Team (First Place Votes), Record - Points
1. Boston College (4), 4-1 - 67
   West Virginia (4), 4-1 - 67
3. Navy, 5-0 - 59
4. Connecticut, 4-1 - 53
5. Syracuse, 3-2 - 36
6. Pittsburgh, 2-2 - 29
7. Penn State, 2-3 - 27
7. Rutgers, 2-2- 25
8. Buffalo, 1-4 - 13
10. Temple, 1-4- 10

ECAC® Lambert Division I-AA Football Poll presented by FieldTurf
Team (First Place Votes), Record - Points
1. New Hampshire(4), 4-1 - 57
2. Delaware(1), 4-1 - 51
3. Harvard, 3-0 - 39
4. James Madison, 3-1 - 31
5. Princeton, 3-0 - 28
6. Maine, 2-2 - 23
7. Pennsylvania, 2-1 - 22
8. Villanova, 3-2 - 21
9. Lehigh, 3-1 - 13
10. Fordham, 4-1 - 11 Top Stories