Navy's Caldwell named to Lott watch list

Navy linebacker Rob Caldwell on Monday was named to the preseason "watch list" for the 2006 Lott Trophy. Caldwell led the Mids in tackles during the 2005 season with 140.

Caldwell, a senior from St. John, Ind., also 7.5 tackles for losses and 3 forced fumbles.

Named in honor of Hall of Fame defensive back Ronnie Lott, the award is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics that Lott embodied throughout his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community involvement and Tenacity (IMPACT). The award is sponsored by the IMPACT Foundation of the Pacific Club, Newport Beach, Calif.

The honor is the only major award in college football that is based on both performance and character. The 42 players named on the "watch list" reflect Lott's jersey number during his playing days in the National Football League.

Presented for the first time in 2004, the inaugural Lott Trophy was given to Georgia defensive end David Pollack. Alabama linebacker DeMeco Ryans copped last year's award.

2006 Lott Trophy "Watch List"

Rufus Alexander, LB, Oklahoma
Dwayne Andrews, LB, Fresno State
Patrick Bailey, LB, Duke
Daniel Bazuin, DE, Central Michigan
Tommy Blake, DE, TCU
H.B. Blades, LB, Pittsburgh
Mkistro Bruce, DL, Washington State
Rob Caldwell, LB, Navy
Caleb Campbell, DB, Army
Adam Carriker, DL, Nebraska
Tim Crowder, DE, Texas
Joe Garcia, DB, Nevada
Michael Griffin, S, Texas
Korey hall, LB, Boise State
Leon Hall, CB, Michigan
Vince Hall, LB, Virginia Tech
Marcus Hamilton, CB, Virginia
Justin Harrell, DT, Tennessee
Natet Harris, LB, Louisville
Jay Henry, LB, West Virginia
Will Herring, LB, Auburn
Daymeion Hughes, CB, California
Kennny Iewbema, DE, Iowa
Lawrence Jackson, DE, USC
Kyle Kinsell, DE, Davidson
LaRon Landry, S, LSU
Larry McSwain, DL, UAB
Brandon Meriweather, S, Miami (Fla.)
Will Meyers, DB, Indiana
Quentin Moses, DE, Georgia
Matt Muncy, LB, Ohio
Jesse Nading, DE, Colorado State
Eli Nichols, DL, Duke
Sam Olajubutu, LB, Arkansas
Paul Posluszny, LB, Penn State
Roderick Rogers, DB, Wisconsin
Brandon Siler, LB, Florida
Juwan Simpson, LB, Alabama
Justin Warren, LB, Texas A&M
Eric Weddle, S, Utah
Patrick Willis, LB, Mississippi
Tom Zbikowski, S, Notre Dame Top Stories